Author Topic: Thoughts on Mercenary's Star  (Read 3378 times)

Flanker

• Recruit
Thoughts on Mercenary's Star
« on: 30 April 2023, 11:58:06 »
So I'm new to BT lore. Chose to start reading with the Gray Death Legion trilogy. Just finished Mercenary's Star, the second book, and wanted to share my thoughts with everybody:

My aboslute favorite part of the book is their insertion onto the surface of Verthandi. Just like the mechwarriors, we have to sit back and see if the aerospace jocks and subterfuge schemes get the woefully inadequate Phobos through a Kurita blockade. Keith does a good job at describing the huge distances, high velocity, and decisiveness of aerospace combat. This isn't a plodding mech combat where we spend minutes plinking armor off a componenet. One pass is usually all it takes to kill or disable an aerospace combatant, which really raises the tension.

The world building in both this book and Decision at Thunder rift is also excellent. Keith takes a lot of time to describe the human and natural geography of Verthandi, which makes the whole reading experience richer. The planet and its people have a sort of very real and believable character to them, which is part of what makes the BT universe so good in my opinion.

The Kurita leadership (Ricol, Nagumo, Kevlavic, the moon base commander, and the evil doctor) are great villains and easy to despise. I don't know if every BT novel paints Kurita in such a negative light, but they really are odious war criminals. Still, Keith paints them as capable individuals who don't mind to employ grossly immoral methods in their pursuit of self-advancement. In this way, they remain dangerous and compelling.

Needless to say, Keith knows how to write a mech battle as one would hope with any BT novel.