Author Topic: How to teach?  (Read 858 times)

GermanSumo

• Sergeant
How to teach?
« on: 11 May 2020, 14:05:59 »
 8)

So, my 10 year old stepson wants to learn the game from me. (a 5 € reward for every win against me caught his interest  >:D >:D )

Tomorrow will be our first lesson. Until Wave 2 of the Kickstarter, i will have access to the Beginners Box and the A Game of Armored Combat Box, which quite severely limits our choices.

My idea for our very first training match was this:

Flat terrain (basically an arena), he gets the Awesome, i take the Commando.

One of my best battletech friends advised me to let him start with the Shadow Hawk vs my Commando.

After that, we will go from there and gradually introduce more and more. Rules, Maps, Pilots, Variants etc etc

As i am always interested in other peoples advice... which of the 2 setups sounds best for a young total beginner? or should i do another pairing first?

Colt Ward

• Lieutenant General
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Re: How to teach?
« Reply #1 on: 11 May 2020, 14:34:23 »
Shadow Hawk I think would be better, he will have the speed to closely match you- or go in reverse to keep the SRMs as far away as possible- and while he will have weapon with min range, he has others that will not have min range.

I have not had the chance to skim through it, but they did release a Chaos Campaign Succession Wars book- free I think?- that was designed to work with the boxes IIRC.

Something else to look at that will work with your boxes would be the House Arano book.  Every scenario I think is set up to use mechs from the beginner boxes though I am not sure about the maps.  IF you let him play the HBS game, it will also give him a tie in to continue the adventures on the table top.
Colt Ward
Clan Invasion Backer #149, Leviathans #104

"We come in peace, please ignore the bloodstains."