Author Topic: Balance Question / Point Value Inquiry  (Read 3168 times)

theletterv

• Recruit
Balance Question / Point Value Inquiry
« on: 12 January 2016, 11:21:55 »
I'm new to this game, but am loving it.

I've been using Master Unit List as my primary resource for Alpha Strike point values.   

However, recently, I've been noticing some wild inconsistency with some of the units and I'm just looking for some logical sense as to why.

For both of these items, what justifies the increase in damage, but little to no difference in point values?

http://www.masterunitlist.info/Unit/Details/3327/turkina-b
http://www.masterunitlist.info/Unit/Details/3329/turkina-d

http://www.masterunitlist.info/Unit/Details/2082/mars-assault-vehicle-standard
http://www.masterunitlist.info/Unit/Details/2080/mars-assault-vehicle-atm

« Last Edit: 12 January 2016, 11:24:18 by theletterv »

Tai Dai Cultist

• Lieutenant Colonel
Re: Balance Question / Point Value Inquiry
« Reply #1 on: 12 January 2016, 11:58:17 »
Damage is represented in the PV skewing towards the medium range.  12/8/4 is only worth 6 more PV than 7/7/5.  I haven't run the turkinas through the conversion process, but the extra point of differential is likely coming from the higher OV value.

Something to keep in mind is that an impressive short range damage value isn't as important as a solid medium range value.  Especially on a unit that's so slow that anyone who wants to stay out of short range will likely be able to do so.

And welcome to Alpha Strike.  Always glad to see new blood :)
« Last Edit: 12 January 2016, 12:05:05 by Tai Dai Cultist »

Scotty

• Alpha Strike Guru by appointment to the FWLM
  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Colonel
« Reply #2 on: 12 January 2016, 14:08:53 »