Author Topic: (Answered) TSEMP, MAR, and Weapon Specialist  (Read 1456 times)

ProfessorMRB

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Not that kind of Doctor
(Answered) TSEMP, MAR, and Weapon Specialist
« on: 01 December 2023, 16:22:13 »
Hey thanks for your help with the C3M question! I had one more for you:

Relevant rules:
P. 90: TSEMP can fire in addition to regular attacks, but it is also described as a weapon attack rather than a special attack (second paragraph under the TSEMP description).
P. 101: Weapon Specialist delivers half the normal damage rounded down if it misses by 1.
P. 175: Weapon Specialists may choose to reroll a single attack roll each turn.

Question(s):

1) Do Weapon Specialists get both of the bonuses when using Multiple Attack Rolls, or just the MAR version on page 175?
2) If one of the attacks I'm making in the turn is a TSEMP, can I use the Weapon Specialist SPA to reroll the TSEMP shot specifically? (not the effect roll, but the to-hit)
« Last Edit: 20 December 2023, 07:39:20 by nckestrel »
What stands in the way, becomes the way.

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11045
Re: TSEMP, MAR, and Weapon Specialist
« Reply #1 on: 20 December 2023, 07:38:06 »
1) The multiple attack rolls (MAR) rule for weapons specialist replaces the standard rule for weapon specialist. You use just the MAR version of weapon specialist when using MAR.
2) You cannot use weapon specialist with TSEMP.  TSEMP is a weapons attack, but it is not a standard weapons attack.
Alpha Strike Introduction resources
Left of Center blog - Nashira Campaign for A Game of Armored Combat, TP 3039 Vega Supplemental Record Sheets

ProfessorMRB

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 63
  • Not that kind of Doctor
Re: (Answered) TSEMP, MAR, and Weapon Specialist
« Reply #2 on: 20 December 2023, 20:42:22 »
Thanks! Quick follow up question: Can I re-roll TSEMP shots in MAR with Lucky points instead?

Page 90: TSEMP is a weapon attack (we established this)
Page 97: "this unit may reroll 1 failed attack roll or 1 failed control roll"
Page 175 says each point of Lucky re-rolls "the entire attack."

Does this mean my unit would re-roll a missed TSEMP shot in addition to the standard weapon attacks of that turn? (Presumably this outcome could also be forced by Float Like a Butterfly?)
What stands in the way, becomes the way.

 

Register