Author Topic: AToW/MWD selection recs/feedback  (Read 1536 times)

Cull

• Recruit
AToW/MWD selection recs/feedback
« on: 25 June 2023, 07:14:50 »
Hi,

I’m new to BattleTech, but I have decent experience with hex-and-counter TTRPGs and wargames. A big draw for me is the possibility of plugging systems into one another, namely Total Warfare and either MechWarrior: Destiny or A Time of War. My aspiration is to run a pulp campaign reminiscent of the 90’s X-Wing novels, with 60-80% of game time committed to adventures out of the cockpit GM’d remotely/hybrid, and in-person ‘mech skirmishes forming the capstone of each narrative episode. Plucky underdogs, mustache-twirling villains, mysterious forces working in the shadows, and all that.

Last week I got my boxed set of A Game of Armored Combat, and I’ve started getting reps in with those basic rules. Soon I’ll add Total Warfare. I’d like to know what insights/anecdotes people took from running MWD compared to AToW. Alternatively, if you’ve run either of them with TW in a campaign, I’d love to hear about the good, the bad, and the ugly of your experience. I’ve read several reviews of each product, but I’m really looking for feedback and recommendations specific to what I’m considering.

I don’t have a group assembled yet, but the pool of potential players I will be drawing from are experienced with Dark Heresy 1e, The Expanse RPG, Twilight: 2000 4e, and various editions of D&D.

Priorities for me:
  • Rules should be able to support complex and robust adventures out of the cockpit
  • Non-MechWarrior characters should be able to contribute meaningfully to adventures
  • “Plugging into” Total Warfare should be logical and straightforward
Thanks in advance.

Daryk

• Lieutenant General
  • The Double Deuce II/II-σ
Re: AToW/MWD selection recs/feedback
« Reply #1 on: 25 June 2023, 09:42:04 »
I can only speak for AToW.  I think it's the best RPG rule set so far.  That said: