Author Topic: Redesigning Clix: What would you do differently?  (Read 17906 times)

Captain of C-21

• Warrant Officer
Redesigning Clix: What would you do differently?
« on: 17 April 2014, 23:15:49 »
Now I know we are all fans of the old clix mechwarrior game.  I've been playing since about 2004-2005, and still find it to be one of the most fun all-around games.  But still, even when I was playing, and now a few years removed, I always had an idea or two kicking around my head about what could've been done differently in designing the game.  I'm mostly talking about dial design and faction dial styles.  I think it'd be real cool if everyone here wanted to throw in a couple things they would've liked seen done with the game.

For starters, I would've changed or reversed defense on dials and what it meant.  In other words, the speedier and harder it is to hit a mech, the higher defense is.  Assault mechs should have always had the lowest possible defense, while lights have the highest.

Lights : 20-24 defense as standard.  Balance this out with their dials being relatively fragile as compared to other weight classes.  Think only the first two clicks after start holding steady values with every click after dropping a bit. With exceptions to the occasional light design that mounts a big gun (Panther, Pack Hunter, Solitaire), keep damage values in the 2-3 range.

Mediums: 19-23 defense.  There certainly are some speedy mediums.  Their dials get to be a little more sturdy (Maybe the first 3-4 clicks stay the same).  Damage values stay between 3-4  (of course, a Hunchback running around might carry a hefty six clicks with Armor Piercing, always exceptions).

Heavies.  Here's where it gets crazy. 18-22 standard defense.  Their dials start to get real sturdy though, they can take a good wallop or two (6 or 7 clicks) before you really start seeing any drops or changes on the dials.  Keep damage values between 3-5.