Author Topic: Quickstrike game in Verbania (Italy)  (Read 2356 times)

Adgar76

• Master Sergeant
Quickstrike game in Verbania (Italy)
« on: 21 May 2012, 12:58:32 »
Hello everyone!

This is the report, long overdue, of a Quickstrike game I held in February at the Custodi del Lago (Keepers of the Lake) gaming circle in Verbania (about halfway up Lago Maggiore’s western shore in northern Italy).
All told, there were four players attending (including me). One of them had played a lot of clickytech Mechwarrior games, but had never played CBT; of the other two, one had played one or two games years ago, and the last one was a complete noob to all branches of Battletech. None of them were familiar in any way, shape or form with the game’s fluff.
Well, the clickytech player actually had a crush on the Jade Falcons as a faction (for which he earned my undying esteem) but that’s about it.
With such a novice audience, I had to spend some time to explain the QS rules. They absorbed them fairly quickly, but it took the best part of an hour before I was finished. I handed them the printed tables from the Battleforce QSR for reference, and moved on to describe the scenario.

Since I didn’t know exactly how many players would attend, I had prepared a scenario with 6 mechs per side. Each team received a handout with an in-character situation report, describing the on-planet situation and the scenario’s objectives and special rules.
The defenders were proxying for the 14th Lyran Guards, and the attackers for the 3rd Sirian Lancers, during the two regiments confrontation on Ford in 3028. I can’t remember if I picked the time and place after a canon battle, but I guess that’s not really that important.

The scenario itself was quite simple: the attackers were supposed to steal supplies (representing mech parts) from the warehouse the defenders were protecting. A simple raid, typical of the late Succession Wars.