Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
The Hourglass Sanitarium (1973) Old Polish movie from the early 1970s. It's a surreal fantasy about a man who visits his dying father in some kind of strange asylum where time is all wonky. The production values are stunning, and it kept me interested throughout the whole runtime, which is normally tough to do. The images on the screen are so weird and insane, along with the confusing plot comes off as like a fever dream. Gave me a lot of ideas to use in my writing too. Rating 8/10
Off Topic / Re: My running days are over
« Last post by Triptych on Today at 00:25:43 »
I feel for you.  I used to love to run the distance.  But I am now 50 and my knees really started going bad about 15 years ago.  I still play around with the boys but I move like an old man.  When on a treadmill I usually just set to the steepest grade and do it as a brisk walk.  Also the stair mills that are at some gyms work great for a good workout.  Finally I started lifting weights almost daily in order to keep from getting flabby. I went from 140 to 160 and feel great.  There are lots of other options to help keep you looking like a "10"

Another thing that I have gotten for leg workouts is a balance board and one of those 1/2 balance ball or burpee balls.  Just standing on one of those and doing some body weight squats can give a good workout for legs and core and not hammer your knees like running does.

Hope this helps.
I'd love to do burpees again, but theyre high impact, right?

coming from a person who can't even pedal a bike anymore due to his legs. ( can get all the way around to just about 11  position but i can't get the leg to push forward to complete the loop. ( thankfully I gave a e bike with a throttle to get around on.  I bet it looks weird as once I get going I have to reach over and pick the leg up to get it on the pedal