Author Topic: (Answered) Antagonizer vs Infernos  (Read 1466 times)

Darius Silverbolt

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 13
(Answered) Antagonizer vs Infernos
« on: 23 June 2023, 13:55:09 »
Had this issue come up in campaign play.  Use the 3rd printing of Campaign Operations SPA Antagonizer and issue arose.

If the raging unit suffers damage from a weapon or physical attack delivered by another unit, or the Antagonizer moves more than 10 hexes away from the raging unit, the rage will “break,” and the raging unit may resume normal activity.

From Total Warfare 10th Printing
Infernos deliver no standard Damage Value. Instead, depending on the target unit type, they deliver heat or automatic chances for critical damage, or they automatically eliminate troopers.

So Infernos don't deal standard damage but the do have negative effects on mechs and can outright cause critical damage to Ground units or eliminate troops.
So the question is does use of infernos break the Antagonizer effect on Mechs / Tanks / Infantry. ? As written it seems like No / Yes / Yes or is the additional heat to mechs a form of "Heat Damage"?  Its a 3 point SPA so I don't want to nerf it but it seems to be in the spirit of the rules for it to be broken by infernos but not as written?

Secondary Question also regarding Antagonizer

Which takes precedence in the following situation?
If a target mech is under Force Withdraw Rules and then Antagonizer SPA is used?

Force Withdraw Page Reference:
FORCED WITHDRAWAL Page 81 Battlemech Manual
Most forces will not fight to the last man. Instead, once they have taken appreciable amounts of damage, they will begin to retreat. The forced withdrawal rules help simulate this situation. Under forced withdrawal, ’Mechs must retreat from the battlefield when rendered useless or in imminent danger of destruction (see Crippling Damage, below). A ’Mech making a forced withdrawal must always move toward its home map edge. However, the ’Mech need not spend Running MP, and may retreat moving backward. If equipped with MASC, a supercharger, or some other system that increases speed at the risk of damage, a ’Mech need not engage that system when withdrawing. Withdrawing ’Mechs may still attack an enemy ’Mech that closes within range of a weapon or physical attack. 

Thank You
« Last Edit: 20 July 2023, 00:49:02 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11839
  • Professor of Errata
Re: Antagonizer vs Infernos
« Reply #1 on: 26 June 2023, 14:42:41 »
Page number references, please.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Darius Silverbolt

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 13
Re: Antagonizer vs Infernos
« Reply #2 on: 26 June 2023, 16:43:18 »
Campaign Operations Page 73 for ANTAGONIZER

Total Warfare Page : Page 141 Infernos

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11839
  • Professor of Errata
Re: Antagonizer vs Infernos
« Reply #3 on: 20 July 2023, 00:48:56 »
Heat damage is still damage from a weapons attack for purposes of the Antagonizer quirk.

We'll be errataing the Antagonizer entry so that instead of "If the raging unit suffers damage from a weapon or physical attack delivered by another unit," it reads "If the raging unit is hit by a weapon or physical attack delivered by another unit,"
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0