Author Topic: Sub-Capital Weapons and You (Repost)  (Read 8846 times)

master arminas

• Captain
Sub-Capital Weapons and You (Repost)
« on: 28 September 2011, 16:08:01 »
I think this was lost in the general purge of the boards, so here it is again.  My one and only fan article to date.  Enjoy!

MA

Sub-Capital Weapons and You

Good morning, everyone.  This is my first attempt at writing an article for this board and I hope to be able to spur a good debate and discussion over some very interesting weapon systems, the Sub-Capital Weapons introduced in Tactical Operations.

First seen in 3073 when used by the Word of Blake, Sub-Capital Weapons are an intermediary type of weapon falling between Capital-scale Weapons and Standard-scale Weapons.  Perhaps these weapons are the result of WoB discovering a Star League-era project to modernize the very first weapons every used by the Terran Alliance; or perhaps they are completely new weapons.  We just don’t know for certain.  Myself, I like the idea that these weapons represented the First Generation of capital guns, and since aerospace fighters were not around, the designers of the day did not recognize their viability against those types of craft after they had been replaced by ‘modern’ Capital weapons.

Now many of you are asking, why should we even bother with a new type of weapon? And it is a legitimate question that deserves an answer.

Sub-Capital Weapons combine the Capital-scale range bands with lightweight weapons that inflict (on the whole) less damage than Capital weapons, but more than Conventional weapons.  They can be mounted on WarShips, Stations, DropShips, large wet-Naval vessels, and Mobile Structures.  These weapons are capable of orbital bombardment, but at an additional +2 to-hit modifier, and only inflict full damage to the target hex (half damage to the surrounding six).