Author Topic: A beginner's questions regarding Alpha Strike  (Read 3275 times)

Scorpion

• Recruit
A beginner's questions regarding Alpha Strike
« on: 27 October 2014, 17:48:33 »
I am just starting out with Battletech (and tabletop games in general). I recently bought the introductory box set, read through the Quick Start rules, and played the green training scenario.
   Now, I’m pretty sure I want to play with the Alpha Strike rules (mostly because I want to eventually play with a large number of units) and my question is, should I read through the Introductory rule book and play through the training scenarios and such, or should I just skip right ahead into Alpha Strike? Also, does Alpha strike contain scenarios for beginners similar to the Introductory Rulebook? If not, can I use the scenarios in the IR to start out with Alpha Strike? And, as a less important question, are the other books such as Total Warfare, Tactical Ops, Strategic Ops etc. useful when playing Alpha Strike?
   Any Help would be greatly appreciated, thank you.

nckestrel

• Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
Re: A beginner's questions regarding Alpha Strike
« Reply #1 on: 27 October 2014, 17:56:26 »
The rulesets have some similiarities, but I don't think playing through the Intro Box Set scenarios/rules is really that helpful toward learning Alpha Strike.  The introductory box set rulebook was the model for the Alpha Strike basic rules, so anything that carries over rules-wise is already in the Alpha Strike rulebook.