Author Topic: Better off converting?  (Read 3288 times)

beachhead1985

• Major
  • 1st SOG; SLDF. "McKenna's Marauders"
    • Kilroy's Wall
Better off converting?
« on: 28 February 2013, 18:28:00 »
Hi, I am new to ATOW, but not battletech roleplaying and the character creation process in ATOW confuses me. Am I better off making my group's characters in MW3 and converting them?

Is there some kind of bone-simple walk through guide out there for ATOW?

Does the conversion process do justice? One thing I hated in MW3 was the massive ammount of work it took to actually improve a skill.

Thanks for your time.
Epitaph on an Army of Mercenaries

These, in the day when heaven was falling,      Their shoulders held the sky suspended;
The hour when earth's foundations fled,         They stood, and earth's foundations stay;
Followed their mercenary calling,               What God abandoned, these defended,
And took their wages, and are dead.             And saved the sum of things for pay.

A.E. Housman

Maelwys

• Major
Re: Better off converting?
« Reply #1 on: 28 February 2013, 19:07:14 »
Well, I guess the first question is "What confuses you about ATOW Chargen?"

monbvol

• Colonel
  • I said don't look!
« Reply #2 on: 28 February 2013, 20:08:59 »
If Module build is too daunting I would recommend using Point Buy character generation.

Start with your 5,000 XP.  Make sure all your attributes are 1 or higher.  Save some XP for Skills, Traits, and if desired SPA's.

Choose you -500 XP worth of Negative traits.

Choose your fields.  When investing in the indicated skills you get 20% back as a rebate of the total XP invested.

Invest in your skills.  I have a thread around here somewhere that has a spreadsheet that shows how all the different XP to skill rank conversions as adjusted for all the traits that can have an impact on how much XP it takes to get a certain rank of skill.

Some bio information and you should be done in no time flat.

beachhead1985

• Major