Interstellar Operations page 160 reads: "Although items in the arms, legs, and torsos of a superheavy ’Mech effectively compress 2 critical slots’ worth of items for every 1 superheavy slot, a critical hit to any item on a superheavy ’Mech’s record sheet is always treated as a “single” critical hit, unless the slot stores ammunition or heat sinks... As with normal rules, critical hits to a superheavy critical slot that has been previously marked off will have no further effect and must be re-rolled."
So, if a superheavy 'Mech receives a crit to an engine slot, that counts as only 1 engine hit, causing it to generate 5 additional heat per turn, correct?
If a superheavy 'Mech has a Light Engine, that occupies 1 crit per side torso. If one side torso is destroyed, how many engine hits does that count for? If it loses both side torsos, is the engine destroyed?