Author Topic: Tell me about... the Huntsman (Nobori-Nin)  (Read 5324 times)

Alex Keller

• Captain
Tell me about... the Huntsman (Nobori-Nin)
« on: 26 April 2011, 11:45:00 »
Hi, all.  So I'm just getting into clan warfare and there are a few designs that seem quite common, yet I know next to nothing about how to use or fight against them. 

The Huntsman is the flagship medium OmniMech for Clan Nova Cat, and seems to be used in limited numbers by the Cobras, Adders and Sharks as well.  The design seems to have plenty of pod space and armor for a 50 tonner, but is not quite as mobile as other mediums. 

My question is... what are the best tactics to use for each Huntsman configuration? Below are the stats as I understand them.

Tonnage: 50
Speed: 5/8/5
Armor: 169 points

Prime: LRM-10 w/Artemis IV (12shots), Str. SRM-6 (15), Ultra AC/2 (45), 4x ER Med Lasers, Flamer, AMS (24), 2 x A-Pods, Active Probe, TAG. 10 DHS (20heat).  (Whoa!  Lots of choices.  Do you start out sniping from afar and then work your way in? What is the TAG used for?  How does one spot for starmates using Zellbrigen?) 

A: 2x Large Pulse Lasers, LRM-10 (12shots), LB 2-X (45), 12 DHS (24heat) ... ... (so this design seems like you'd want to pick at opponents from extreme to long range, right?)

B: ER PPC, LB 10-X (20 shots), 2x Med Pulse Lasers, 2x MGs 10 DHS (20heat). (This is a really odd one.  The ER PPC and LB 10-X make me want to say this design should fight at range, but the Pulse Lasers need to be in close... and not many heat sinks to fire the PPC and both lasers without hurting.)

C: Str. SRM-4 (24), LRM-20 (6 shots !!!), Flamer, Ultra AC/5 (20), LRM-15 (8 shots !!!), ER Med Laser, ER Small Laser, 10 DHS (20heat).  (Okay, this design seems really bad... After about a minute on the field, the LRMs are going to run out and you're left with a laser and a few shots of AC and SRM-4 left...)