Author Topic: Looking for input on my yellow paint scheme  (Read 6384 times)

Fnord

• Warrant Officer
Looking for input on my yellow paint scheme
« on: 05 February 2011, 14:36:21 »

This is my very first attempt at painting yellow, so future models will probably look a lot better. Also, I am well aware of the mold line on the hussar (I did try to remove it, but apparently enough was left on the front for it to be clearly noticeable when I painted the model). The eyes on the hussar will be re-done (I tried to wet blend for the very first time, and it did not work out as well as I had hoped), and there are still some details that needs to be painted. But for an overall look of the models, what do you think?

xupgrayddx

• Master Sergeant
Re: Looking for input on my yellow paint scheme
« Reply #1 on: 05 February 2011, 14:49:16 »
yellow is a pain to paint. I think they look pretty good, the dry brush on the shadow cat came out nice. maybe take it a little easier on the brown wash (to bring out the yellow more) and add some metallics.  I wouldnt sweat the cockpits, i too tried wet blending, failed, and now i just stick with "normal" jeweling.
I'm sorry, your authority is not recognized inside Fort Kickass!

Fnord

• Warrant Officer
« Reply #2 on: 05 February 2011, 16:14:55 »
I've spent most of my wargaming career painting green & brown, which is one of the main reasons why I went for yellow, it offers a fresh new challenge, and I might improve as a painter.

You are probably right about the brown wash, the next batch will have a bit less on them, and will hopefully look better. I still want them to look like they have been in use for a whole (henche the scorching at the end of the barrels, another thing that I have never done before).

Vlads Fangs

• Catalyst Demo Team
  • Lieutenant
  • Wolf Empire Forever! Next stop- Terra!
« Reply #3 on: 05 February 2011, 16:16:56 »
 O0

maddyfish

• Corporal
« Reply #4 on: 05 February 2011, 17:09:06 »