Author Topic: Posted a review of Alpha Strike to a local group  (Read 2477 times)

mk2

• Private
Posted a review of Alpha Strike to a local group
« on: 01 November 2014, 22:02:32 »
Guys apologies in advanced if I got something wrong , I am a Noob at Alpha strike. but I thought you guys might enjoy the view of  an old battletech player coming back to the game and experiencing alpha strike, I wrote this from memory from a game and a read through the rulebook.

Here is my review on Battltech Alpha Strike but first some background . I first saw Battletech at a gaming store in south florida  in the mid 1980s (the name of the store escapes me) . I purchased the game and went to a friend's house and started playing it the same day. There were no miniatures in those early battles as we use the card board cut outs that came with the game. We were hooked and played battle tech on and off until 1993 . At that time we were starting to play large battles, by large I mean 20+ mechs all represented with glorious ral partha miniatures. As you can imagine the games were taking 12 hours + if not more. It was a game designed to have a few mechs on either side and that was the reality of the rule set at the time , so If you wanted to recreate the fantastically large battles in the novels it simply was not feasible.
Enter Alpha Strike released in 2013.
Alpha Strike uses a formula to pare down a mech’s stats from classic battletech. The formula assigns a Point value as well as a movement, attack (at different ranges) armor and structure value. It also adds special abilities and you can even purchase different levels of experience for the mech warriors. I include a picture of the mech card below.