Author Topic: ATB Starting SMall?  (Read 1725 times)

Caplin

• Recruit
  • Peace through superior firepower. :)
ATB Starting SMall?
« on: 25 April 2019, 21:18:14 »
Hi ALl,

I'm really curious to get into an Against the Bot campaign now that some of the MegaMek blind accessibility is looking up. I'd appreciate some thoughts on how small I can take things and still be viable.

I'm a newbie to the universe so find managing a company a bit overwhelming. Is it possible to just start with a lance of mechs and gradually build outward?

One of the things I'd love to try and do is inject a little bit of role-playing style flavor into the unit I run, and I feel like with a company initially it's a little harder to get invested in any of the commanders because they're all basically a name I don't know much about.

I'm curious how other folks have addressed this issue. I was told on the BT Discord server that ATB scales its enemy deployments to  the player's forces, and would love to know more about this.

Thanks for any insight you can offer :)

Ragnaphael

• Recruit
Re: ATB Starting SMall?
« Reply #1 on: 26 April 2019, 01:55:08 »
I always start small. Just start with 3 or 4 mechs, some techs, a doctor and 2 admins. Take some supplies, a contract and you're off. I always custom build my mech warriors for the same reason you want to, being more invested.

Kovax

• Captain
  • Taking over the Universe one mapsheet at a time
« Reply #2 on: 26 April 2019, 16:04:57 »
Current campaign started with 5M C-bills and a literal handful of GM-added people (mostly Regulars), plus one Veteran (MW/Admin) to lead it, then bought everything else from there.  First contract was taken with just a slightly used FS-9H and a couple of cheap light vehicles.

Started a previous campaign with a Locust and three light hovercraft.  That took a few reloads to get past the first combat mission.