Author Topic: New vs old  (Read 1513 times)

crimhead

• Recruit
New vs old
« on: 06 January 2015, 19:25:56 »
I've been considering buying the role playing game, but a friend has recently dug up an older copy (I believe he said third edition).  So I'm wondering what the advantages are to the newest system.  If the new rules are a lot better, I'll go for the upgrade. If the new system is almost identical, or less well liked, I might prefer to spend the money instead on extra rules and figs for the hex game.  I'm a newbie - played the board game twice and never played the RPG.

Thanks a lot!

Liam's Ghost

• Lieutenant Colonel
  • Miss Chitty finds your honor rules quaint.
Re: New vs old
« Reply #1 on: 06 January 2015, 19:37:32 »
The newer system is a lot cleaner and more streamlined. I highly recommend it over Third Edition.
Good news is the lab boys say the symptoms of asbestos poisoning show an immediate latency of 44.6 years. So if you're thirty or over you're laughing. Worst case scenario you miss out on a few rounds of canasta, plus you've forwarded the cause of science by three centuries. I punch those numbers into my calculator, it makes a happy face.

(indirect accessory to the) Slayer of Monitors!

crimhead

• Recruit
« Reply #2 on: 06 January 2015, 19:39:42 »
That's all I needed to hear; clean and streamlined is a major plus!  Thanks for the speedy reply. :)

Liam's Ghost

• Lieutenant Colonel
« Reply #3 on: 06 January 2015, 19:45:19 »
No problem.
Good news is the lab boys say the symptoms of asbestos poisoning show an immediate latency of 44.6 years. So if you're thirty or over you're laughing. Worst case scenario you miss out on a few rounds of canasta, plus you've forwarded the cause of science by three centuries. I punch those numbers into my calculator, it makes a happy face.

Liam's Ghost

• Lieutenant Colonel
« Reply #4 on: 06 January 2015, 20:11:33 »