Author Topic: BattleForce Random Army Generation?  (Read 5996 times)

bsilver

• Recruit
BattleForce Random Army Generation?
« on: 08 June 2012, 15:49:54 »
First, a quick history: I started playing BT back in the day with the 4th Edition box set. My buddy and I used to flip through some of the old TROs and the Battletech Master Rules (revised), but never really implemented any of it. I haven't played for a really long time, but really loved the universe and came back to it via the BattleForce quick start rules. I wanted faster gameplay, so I bought Strategic Ops with the hopes of playing relatively quick combined-arms scenarios. I've looked at SSW's QuickStrike Printer (QSP), but I was wondering if there is a quick and easy way to build some balanced forces for play various scenarios on the 4th Edition intro mapsheets? I don't have the knowledge to be able to build interesting forces from the master unit list (or related software) alone. Does anyone have some recommended starting armies and/or scenarios that give some combined-arms flavor but don't take much more than an hour to play? Are their sources for prebuilt BattleForce-focused scenarios that wouldn't require conversion from older rulesets or scales? Thanks!

Moonsword

• Acutus Gladius
  • Global Moderator
  • Colonel
  • You interrupted me reading TROs for this?
Re: BattleForce Random Army Generation?
« Reply #1 on: 08 June 2012, 16:20:02 »
Welcome to the boards!

Xotl's RATs are probably the most comprehensive materials for the Succession Wars, which were largely fought with introductory rules.  You might also want to look at worktroll's Army Reports for a better guide to the early factions.

For other periods, you might try the Era Reports or Field Manuals but RATs are not really guaranteed to produce balanced forces, just producing "flavorful" ones quickly.