Author Topic: Poor man's hills  (Read 4260 times)

xupgrayddx

• Master Sergeant
Poor man's hills
« on: 20 February 2011, 16:02:34 »
Unfortunately, I am a college student, so the budget dosnt excatly allow for top notch terrain, or even styrene sheets at the moment (i know, it cheap, but hard to find here) so i concocted a method to try to make some good hills out of the cheapest possible materials.

1. Styrofoam (the kind everything is packed in)
2. Vinly spackle / wood filler for texture (what i had laying around)
3. paint (duh)
4. grass. i wish i had some finer flock, but again, not in the budget

The small one was the first one i did, i decided it didnt showcase enough texture, so i did the pathways on the larger one.

These are the finished product, i am very curious to see what you guys think. feedback and suggestions are welcome and encouraged!

I'm sorry, your authority is not recognized inside Fort Kickass!

Stormlion1

• Colonel
  • Apparently Im a rare survivor of the 1st!
Re: Poor man's hills
« Reply #1 on: 20 February 2011, 17:00:58 »
Looks good.  O0
I don't set an example for others. I make examples of them.

worktroll

• Ombudsman
  • Lieutenant General
  • 504th "Gateway" Division
    • There are Monsters in my Sky!
« Reply #2 on: 20 February 2011, 17:03:59 »
I prefer hexed 3D, but those look great, and I admire anyone who thinks outside the box (pun unintended!)

W.
* No, FASA wasn't big on errata - ColBosch
* The Housebook series is from the 80's and is the foundation of Btech, the 80's heart wrapped in heavy metal that beats to this day - Sigma
* To sum it up: FASAnomics: By Cthulhu, for Cthulhu - Moonsword
* Because Battletech is a conspiracy by Habsburg & Bourbon pretenders - MadCapellan
* The Hellbringer is cool, either way. It's not cool because it's bad, it's cool because it's bad with balls - Nightsky
* It was a glorious time for people who felt that we didn't have enough Marauder variants - HABeas2, re "Empires Aflame"

Ratboy