Author Topic: 3D modeling and printing thread (image heavy)  (Read 2578 times)

Bedwyr

• A Sticky Wicket
  • Global Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • RIP. Again. And again. And again.
3D modeling and printing thread (image heavy)
« on: 02 April 2018, 14:23:16 »
This is mostly addressed to greatsarcasmo, but I want to open a general thread in case anyone else knows or is interested in the subject.

I'm new to 3D CAD design (as an electrical dude, I've mostly worked in 2D PCB design or 2D ANSYS RF sim) with a little bit of 3D modeling way back in the day. Getting spun up on Fusion 360 and expect to have ongoing questions.

My primary resource will be Fusion tutorials (https://www.autodesk.com/products/fusion-360/get-started) and Adafruit's Layer by Layer series (https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLjF7R1fz_OOVsMp6nKnpjsXSQ45nxfORb).

Ok, first question. I commonly try to ask questions about edge cases to probe and better understand common best practices and find new techniques to accomplish what I want. Therefore:

- I've made a sketch from the tutorial composed of a constrained polygon and a couple circles.

- A following tutorial displays a single sketched shape using the Offset function to cut out a hole in the middle.

- It appears to be impossible to do with with the sketch composed of multiple polygons and shapes as you can only offset one shape at a time.

- But is it? Is there a way that I can make a connected copy of the composited shapes in one sketch (so that edits still affect the second sketch) and be able to use Offset to create a cutout?

- Is there a better practice to create cutouts generally?

edit: I'm changing the title now that I have a lot of medium-to-large images in here.
« Last Edit: 17 April 2018, 14:48:17 by Bedwyr »
Alas poor Photobucket. I knew him Horatio, a fellow of infinite jest, of most excellent fancy.

Bedwyr

• A Sticky Wicket
  • Global Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
Re: 3D modeling and printing thread