Author Topic: Using A time of War to spice up Total Warfare  (Read 3823 times)

Eldragon

• Sergeant
Using A time of War to spice up Total Warfare
« on: 18 August 2011, 09:24:34 »
What I want to do is use AToW character advancement (esp. Traits and quirks) in a traditional Total Warfare campaign.

I just bought a copy of AToW and Era Reports: 3052. My plan is to run an "RPG-like" clan invasion campaign. All Player Characters will be pilots of some kind (Tank, Mech, etc) in a rag-tag merc outfit.  I don't expect there to much "out of mech" action but we will roll up complete characters in case there is.

So I have a couple questions:

I would think this kind of thing is very common, but I've never done it before, and I wanted to know if there are common problems or pitfalls?

What steps should I take to avoid min-maxing? I don't want everyone to start with 2/3 pilots after all.

Has someone created a random career path table?  If not, I'll need to write my own. I'm looking for something like Traveller RPG did career terms. Random, yet viable and interesting careers for PCs. I am worried I'm going to get 4 identical PCs. I want the "A-Team" or "The Dirty Dozen" not "Attack of  the Clones".

Characters will select their mechs as per AToW. However I am a little concerned they will get steamrolled in the ER:3052 campaign. Should I give the players better mechs, bonus warchest points, or are my concerned unjustified?

DancingTofu

• Corporal
  • Rock you like a DV-6M!
Re: Using A time of War to spice up Total Warfare
« Reply #1 on: 18 August 2011, 13:43:38 »
You can simply limit how much XP they can put into their gunnery and pilot skills, that's what I did with my AToW players. I don't like to limit my players, but I did impose a few limits to help retain some sort of a "not everybody is an elite pilot with the best equipment" feel.
"No guts, no galaxy!" -1st Somerset Strikers
"But they made one big mistake... They attacked MY HOME PLANET!" -Adam Steiner

Talz