Author Topic: MechCommander Davion Guards Paint Scheme  (Read 2825 times)

jamesbeil

• Corporal
MechCommander Davion Guards Paint Scheme
« on: 24 July 2019, 05:49:23 »
Does anyone have a recipe recommendation for painting Yankee, Zulu, and X-Ray companies of the 1st Davion Guards during the battle for Port Arthur from MechCommander? I imagine a blue primer followed by a dark blue wash would do the armour fine, but the yellow sections are giving me a headache.

worktroll

• Ombudsman
  • Lieutenant General
  • 504th "Gateway" Division
    • There are Monsters in my Sky!
Re: MechCommander Davion Guards Paint Scheme
« Reply #1 on: 24 July 2019, 05:56:56 »
Yellow is always painful. The best approach would - in my opinion; I'm an experienced tabletop painter, not a CSO level artist - would be to do the blue a shade lighter, then hit all over with a blue ink wash or two (Citadel inks FTW!), to bring up the panelling. Then do a ghostbrush (even drier brush) with the base colour to bring up edges.

Then paint the bits you want yellow first with grey, then with bone, then white, and then yellow. And some more yellow. And then use a fine brush to put yellow ink into any panel lines you want to emphasise.

Then add detail - black & drybrushed metal over bits you want metallic, do cockpits however, etc.

And hope you don't spill any of the paint over the blue you already did ...

Yellow is just that painful, and there seem to be few yellow paints that provide a reliable base colour.

Hope that gives some ideas.
* No, FASA wasn't big on errata - ColBosch
* The Housebook series is from the 80's and is the foundation of Btech, the 80's heart wrapped in heavy metal that beats to this day - Sigma
* To sum it up: FASAnomics: By Cthulhu, for Cthulhu - Moonsword
* Because Battletech is a conspiracy by Habsburg & Bourbon pretenders - MadCapellan
* The Hellbringer is cool, either way. It's not cool because it's bad, it's cool because it's bad with balls - Nightsky