Author Topic: Balance in MW 2nd Ed modules all over the place.  (Read 2813 times)

Stokviz

• Recruit
Balance in MW 2nd Ed modules all over the place.
« on: 13 April 2020, 18:16:08 »
So, I'm at a loss here. Im reading into the Null Set and the Royalty and Rogues modules and I can't understand how the players should ever be able to win the described 'mech battles. In the first pages it's stated that the games are meant for at least 2 player characters (Mechwarriors), and at least one of them should own a Medium 'mech. The enemy forces in the first battle of Royalty and Rogues are made out of FIVE 'mechs, two of which are heavy. In the first battle in Null Set, the book says a party of 4 OR LESS should be able to defeat a command lance made out of FOUR ASSAULT 'mechs.

Am I missing something here? Or should I just throw these recommendation out of the window and come up with my own opposing forces.

PS: I'm fairly new to the tabletop game, so I don't know for sure how competent a party of player characters should be.

Daryk

• Lieutenant General
  • The Double Deuce II/II-σ
Re: Balance in MW 2nd Ed modules all over the place.
« Reply #1 on: 13 April 2020, 18:19:47 »
In MW2, it was ridiculously easy to max Gunnery and Piloting.

Stokviz

• Recruit
« Reply #2 on: 13 April 2020, 18:29:47 »
Still even for characters with gunnery 2, it should still be almost impossible to win against these forces with a party of two or three Mechwarriors. Am I wrong?

monbvol

• Colonel
  • I said don't look!
« Reply #3 on: 13 April 2020, 22:24:25 »
It is true that even at 0/0 there is only so much that does to make up for being heavily out numbered, out massed, or both at the same time.

Overall it is just going to take some trial and error to figure out exactly how much you can overcome and how to use positioning and range to even these factors out.