Author Topic: New concepts in GM-ing a game: a dungeon crawl?  (Read 2979 times)

abou

• Captain
New concepts in GM-ing a game: a dungeon crawl?
« on: 24 December 2015, 17:37:52 »
I have been GM-ing an ongoing Alpha Strike campaign for a few months now. I am doing my best to think of new ideas and scenarios, but sometimes you wind up doing the same thing: Force A v Force B to destruction. I also participate in a D&D game, which game me some insight. Namely, what if I ran a game of Alpha Strike like a dungeon crawl?

Last night the game I ran involved my players' heavy lance as they made their way across three different maps and fought against three different lances of light and medium 'mechs. The players were allowed two additional 'mechs as cavalry if they were doing poorly; I allowed myself an extra lance if the players did too well. It seemed to work out fairly well. I did "pull" some punches in order to avoid destroying 'mechs, but also managed to keep the pressure on and allowed the tension to mount.

I am still tweaking this idea. I want to introduce more elements and achieve that dungeon crawl feel while remaining within the system of Alpha Strike. I may still need to use bits of A Time of War -- or to use it entirely. After all, it's not like there is a cleric on the field that can heal your 'mech. But mainly I am wondering if anyone has done anything similar or would have any insight to such a method.

idea weenie

• Major
Re: New concepts in GM-ing a game: a dungeon crawl?
« Reply #1 on: 24 December 2015, 22:32:43 »
I don't think you can do this in Alpha Strike, but the regular tabletop you could have a Cargomech or vehicle with spare shields (slab of armor with a handle) for the Mechs to carry, along with a few Handheld weapons.