Author Topic: Titan II Carrier DropShip  (Read 1279 times)

marauder648

• Lieutenant Colonel
    • Project Zhukov Fan AU TRO's and PDFs
Titan II Carrier DropShip
« on: 21 May 2018, 09:54:59 »
This is my first attempt at a DropShip and my numbers are probably a wee bit wrong somewhere so I appologise.

The Titan class DropShip always had my head scratching as the TRO seemed to lack any Clan refit for its weapons and equipment save that the Clan one carried 30 fighters instead of 18.  It still has the old lasers and AC-20's that armed the SLDF ships, and this makes no sense to me, so I had a go at Clannifying the Titan II.  One thing I did that makes it stand out is considerably slow her down to a 4/6 movement curve.  The Titan, in my head is a CV(E) (not Combustable Vulnerable Expendable) but a jeep carrier, there to beef up the defences of friendly WarShips.  The Clans however I would think would use it more as a patrol and system security ship.  30 Fighters is a scary force for anything to come across and the Titan would represent a serious threat to anything short of a cruiser and even then..its iffy.

So I slowed her down, upped her armour protection and anti-fighter firepower by eliminating the short ranged heavy caliber ACs and opting for a simple mix of lasers and missiles for long range work.  And even if she was challenged by an Assault DropShip say, in the Inner Sphere, she's got enough firepower to fend one off for the most part.

Code: [Select]
Class/Model/Name: Titan II Carrier DropShip
Tech: Clan
Vessel Type: Aerodyne
Mass: 12,000 tons
Safe Thrust: 4
Maximum Thrust: 6
Armor Type: Ferro Aluminium
Armament:       

8 x Large Pulse laser
15 x ER large Laser
8 x Medium pulse laser
8 x LRM 20 + Artemis IV Fire control
12 x AMS

------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Class/Model/Name: Titan II Carrier DropShip
Mass: 12,000 tons

Equipment: Mass
Drive & Control: 2928
Thrust:  Safe Thrust: 4
      Maximum Thrust: 6