Author Topic: Revisiting Icar Mar 3050  (Read 1809 times)

Colt Ward

• Lieutenant General
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Revisiting Icar Mar 3050
« on: 20 August 2019, 12:01:27 »
With the KS and release of the PDF ER3052 to backers I got back into some Invasion era IS vs Clan battles on MM.  I returned to a set up I had been working on for 15 years, play testing the campaign from time to time . . .

March 3050 the 4th Wolf Guards landed two Supernova Trinaries and a star from Alpha Assault which is 35 mechs and I THINK it was 75-100 Elementals, I do not have my file or WCSB with me at the moment.  Lots of Gargoyles and Timber Wolves, no surprise with that force list from the Tukayyid book though ER3052 now requires one of the mechs to be a Nova if it was not present already.  But it did have a Warhawk in the mix as the slowest mech fielded.

The 3/12 Star Guard's Bravo Battalion was the force near the Wolves' LZ though none of the 3rd IAB was reported to be supporting them, perhaps some where present as scouts.  Either way, per ER3052 the Bravo Battalion got hammered flat in a short time- panicked radio signals after a opening salvo killed the BN's major outside of LRM range.  To be fair, it sounds like the landing area was pretty flat and maybe open- likely little vegetation like in a rain shadow b/c of the description of later maps.  Either way 35 Clan mechs, mostly Gargoyles and  Timber Wolves with some Ice Ferrets and Adders against 36 3025 designs even if heavier than the IS medium average is going to be over quickly- before the Elementals can even really factor in.