BattleTech - The Board Game of Armored Combat

BattleTech Game Systems => Ground Combat => Topic started by: Crackerb0x on 13 July 2018, 14:21:29

Title: Mechs and Buildings
Post by: Crackerb0x on 13 July 2018, 14:21:29
Recently, during a game, I moved a BattleMech into a level 1 building, failed the PSR to not take damage from the building and realized that I didnt know where to take the damage. Logic says legs, however, I remember in Total Warfare Mech sizes and building levels get weird.

Can someone point me where in TW it shows how to handle this? It doesn't exactly seem like an edge case and I couldn't find it myself.
Title: Re: Mechs and Buildings
Post by: Weirdo on 13 July 2018, 14:33:37
Since there is no special rule covering this, you use the normal falling damage rules. The example in page 178 confirms this.

The exception is when falling into a just-discovered basement. In those cases, the basements table on page 179 is pretty self-explanatory. Scratch this. I checked errata, and those bits were struck. Looks like in all cases, you roll facing after the fall and assign damage normally.
Title: Re: Mechs and Buildings
Post by: Crackerb0x on 13 July 2018, 14:44:47
I was really understand aware that failing the PSR to take damage also meant the mech fall. I just thought it took damage while moving into the building.
Title: Re: Mechs and Buildings
Post by: Daryk on 13 July 2018, 16:18:58
I also never took failing the piloting roll to avoid damage meant falling.  Is this one of those long-standing misconceptions?
Title: Re: Mechs and Buildings
Post by: NeonKnight on 13 July 2018, 16:29:00
Rule in Question is covered on pages 167-168

Make a PSR (with modifiers). A failed roll means take damage as if the attack came from the front or back (depending on movement) or Left/right side for Lateral Movement of 4-Legged Mechs.

Under no circumstance does the failed roll mean you fall.

Now, here's the Kicker (no pun), Even though your 2-Level tall mech enters a Level 1 Building, the mech is then for all intents and purposes while inside the building hex only 1 level tall, for movement, etc, but 2 levels tall for LoS etc...weird I know.

Page 167:

Quote
BUILDING LEVELS
Treat building levels exactly like other terrain levels for line
of sight and movement, with each level of a building measuring
roughly six meters high. These levels do not represent a
specific number of floors, but rather are an abstraction of the
building’s interior.
This means that even though a ’Mech stands two levels tall,
when inside a building hex it only occupies a single level at
a time.
However, it still is considered to rise two levels above
the underlying level it occupies in a building hex for purposes
of LOS to any hex that is not a non-adjacent building hex. For
more information, see Changing Levels in a Building, p. 169.

What does this mean? Your Level 2 Mech, entering a level 1 Building can take damage to it's head.
Title: Re: Mechs and Buildings
Post by: Simon Landmine on 13 July 2018, 17:01:28
What does this mean? Your Level 2 Mech, entering a level 1 Building can take damage to it's head.

They've got really over-engineered TV aerials in the worlds of Battletech?
Title: Re: Mechs and Buildings
Post by: Weirdo on 13 July 2018, 17:28:42
Sorry, I misread your question, thought you were asking about normal PSRs once already in the building.

No, you don't fall if you fail the PSR while entering. The damage is full-body, essentially on the hexside you first entered the building with.