Author Topic: Tips for starting a Capellan Alpha Strike force?  (Read 486 times)

Grizzly

• Master Sergeant
  • Average Liao Enjoyer
Tips for starting a Capellan Alpha Strike force?
« on: 02 July 2024, 18:53:00 »
I'm new to Alpha Strike and finding some surprises translating from Classic. A few general things I've noticed that affect the CCAF:

-stealth has a high PV cost and eats up firepower
-TSM is way easier to manage, but mechs can't do weapons and physical attacks in the same turn so it's less of a multiplier
-mines are easier to use but less effective at making choke points
-Arrow IV vehicles can't fire both AIV and regular weapons
-TAG is still useful; but NARC effects are now optional rules
-TSEMP is easier to use
-anything with an LB20X suffers in the damage conversion

A few personal observations:
-my beloved Men Shen is very expensive
-Regulators and Pixiu aren't quite as scary
-The Shun is easier to use (all IT are, really)
-Fa Shih are a fun as ever
-Urbanmechs are easier to use with simple range bands

Still I'm finding the change jarring regarding unit choice and tactics. Does anyone with experience have advice for a Capellan Alpha Strike player?

"I checked the [MUL] log, and it says that you--specifically--broke it." -Greekfire

Check out my tribute to the CCAF at www.instagram.com/average_liao_enjoyer/

MWO handle: Grizlie
Mercenaries Kickstarter backer #268

InspectorG007

• Recruit
Re: Tips for starting a Capellan Alpha Strike force?
« Reply #1 on: 02 July 2024, 23:07:58 »
I was wondering the same for Late Succession. Still a newb trying to figure this out.

My line of thought is more Light and Medium with cheap Combined Arms. *Mandatory* Vindicator if fitting the Objective and PV cap. STL isnt invented yet so, IF and cheap zerg tactics. LRM specials with Smoke or Minefield ammo?

nckestrel

• Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
« Reply #2 on: 03 July 2024, 01:20:53 »