Author Topic: Tournament Suitability  (Read 1309 times)

Shapiro Keats

• Recruit
Tournament Suitability
« on: 19 July 2019, 12:48:02 »
Just curious if any of you have experience running tournaments using the Alpha Strike rules?

I've been playing Battletech for almost 30 years now (!) and one of the frustrations I've often seen among new players is the lack of easy force balancing, as well as the game's emphasis on smaller-scale play. Now for experienced players I don't think either of these are big concerns, but I do feel that they have traditionally prevented Battletech from "blowing up" to be as big as it could be, especially among the tournament crowd.

When I discovered Alpha Strike on its release, I felt that maybe it was the solution to these issues. I was also hoping that it would open up a tournament scene for the Battletech IP. Unfortunately, after the first big errata changed some of the mechanics, my group stopped playing the game and went back to Battletech. Now that the Commander's Edition has been released, we are getting excited about the game again.

If anyone has run tournaments, what sort of advice do you have? Are there any rules in particular that could cause problems and shouldn't be used? Guidelines for force creation besides a straight points system?

Thanks!

Scotty

• Alpha Strike Guru by appointment to the FWLM
  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Colonel
Re: Tournament Suitability
« Reply #1 on: 19 July 2019, 13:25:18 »
Cliffs notes version since I'm posting on a phone at work during my lunch break:

1) don't use many optional rules, the ones you do use should be clearly described before lists are submitted
2) limit numbers of units, both ways; a million infantry is just as annoying in AS as in TW.
3) make sure terrain is relatively consistent across tables
4) pick a game size that can be finished quickly so you're not stuck there all day.  Something like 300 PV and 5-12 units to start.