Author Topic: Question about CGL books.  (Read 271 times)

Teejay75

• Private
Question about CGL books.
« on: 17 May 2024, 20:22:04 »
I'm still relatively new to BT. I dabbled a little as a teenager but it's been years (read decades) since I really got into the BT universe. I bought all of the CGL box sets and forcepacks so that my son and I can play. We've started with Alpha Strike and are easing our way into "regular" Battletech. I bought the Alpha Strike rulebook. I've seen some of the campaign and source books like Battle for Tukayyid, Tamar Rising, Dominions Divided, IlClan, and Empire Alone, as well as Total Warfare. Some are still available in print but others are only available in PDF. Does Catalyst do reprints on the ones that are sold out or will I be consigned to buying the electronic versions? I realize that the PDFs have their advantages but I'm 52 now and I guess it's my age but I prefer to have a physical copy of a book in my hands instead of a tablet.

ColBosch

• Lieutenant Colonel
  • Legends Never Die
Re: Question about CGL books.
« Reply #1 on: 17 May 2024, 20:44:11 »
Some older books are available as print-on-demand from DriveThruRPG. CGL is aware of the demand - and the absolutely insane prices some titles are going for on the secondary market - but they're a small outfit. It takes a surprising amount of work to scan a physical book and convert it to a saleable PDF, let alone get the quality you want for print-on-demand.
BattleTech is a huge house, it's not any one fan's or "type" of fans.  If you need to relieve yourself, use the bathroom not another BattleTech fan. - nckestrel
1st and 2nd Succession Wars are not happy times. - klarg1

Aresneo

• Master Sergeant
« Reply #2 on: 17 May 2024, 22:44:26 »