Register Register

Author Topic: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB  (Read 2335 times)

Brainburn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • You just made the list.
"Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« on: 25 February 2011, 19:07:40 »
Subject says it all.
Am I missing something or doing something wrong?

Brainburn

deathshadow

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 838
  • Special Tasks Group
    • Cut Code Down - Minimalist Semantic Markup
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #1 on: 26 February 2011, 05:54:21 »
Whozzasaysawhat?

Can you be more specific? What do you mean "log in via BB"?
There are those who know how, those who understand why, and then there are the people making websites these days...
CUTCODEDOWN.COM

Stormcrow

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5069
  • Art by Shimmering Sword
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #2 on: 26 February 2011, 06:08:45 »
Blackberry?
Commandant Otto Maurus, ARWH-1Z ArcHammer, Maurus' Minutemen
Captain Obadiah Sykes, OSR-5FCR Ostroc, Second Filtvelt Citizens Militia

I hear and I forget. I see and I remember. I do and I understand. - Confucius
Noli Timure Messorem
May God defend me from my friends; I can defend myself from my enemies. - Voltaire
Wielder of the Ferro-Carbide Bat of DOOMâ„¢

Brainburn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • You just made the list.
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #3 on: 27 February 2011, 15:16:32 »
Yes I do mean Blackberry.
(I dont seem to be getting notifications of replies.)

I am trying to log in via BB (Blackberry) and post replies while I am away from my comp.
I used to be able to do it and now cant seem to.

Is it on my end?

Thx,

Brainburn

Brainburn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • You just made the list.
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #4 on: 27 February 2011, 15:17:31 »
Whozzasaysawhat?

HAHA man, I laughed out loud on that one. All I saw and heard was Bender from Futurama.

cavingjan

  • Sang-Wei MUL
  • Battletech Volunteer
  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 4345
  • grumpy ESOB
    • warrenborn
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #5 on: 27 February 2011, 20:19:44 »
Are you on the mobile site or the full site?
I use the mobile version and don't seem to have a problem.

Brainburn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • You just made the list.
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #6 on: 27 February 2011, 22:00:30 »
Uhm.. theres a mobile site?

deathshadow

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 838
  • Special Tasks Group
    • Cut Code Down - Minimalist Semantic Markup
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #7 on: 28 February 2011, 04:18:16 »
It's VERY barebones, but that makes it VERY handheld bandwidth friendly... SMF in fact supports three different mobile formats.

http://www.classicbattletech.com/forums/index.php/?wap
http://www.classicbattletech.com/forums/index.php/?wap2
http://www.classicbattletech.com/forums/index.php/?imode

While not as robust as the full forum skin, they are pretty lean on bandwidth and pretty much guaranteed to work well on smaller screens if said device supports it. Wap2 is usually your best bet.

Though personally I wish it used semantic markup and put links on a few more things -- and title tags with accesskeys on the navigation. Semantics alone could reduce the bandwidth it uses by 30-50%... but of course with WML being a gutted/neutered version of HTML, that's not ENTIRELY possible.
« Last Edit: 28 February 2011, 04:30:47 by deathshadow »
There are those who know how, those who understand why, and then there are the people making websites these days...
CUTCODEDOWN.COM

worktroll

  • Ombudsman
  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 20513
  • 504th "Gateway" Division
    • There are Monsters in my Sky!
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #8 on: 28 February 2011, 04:50:45 »
It's working fine for me - on my crackberry

W.
* No, FASA wasn't big on errata - ColBosch
* The Housebook series is from the 80's and is the foundation of Btech, the 80's heart wrapped in heavy metal that beats to this day - Sigma
* To sum it up: FASAnomics: By Cthulhu, for Cthulhu - Moonsword
* Because Battletech is a conspiracy by Habsburg & Bourbon pretenders - MadCapellan
* The Hellbringer is cool, either way. It's not cool because it's bad, it's cool because it's bad with balls - Nightsky
* It was a glorious time for people who felt that we didn't have enough Marauder variants - HABeas2, re "Empires Aflame"

Brainburn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • You just made the list.
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #9 on: 28 February 2011, 17:25:33 »
I can view posts but I still cant log on and post.
Says "feature not available...."

Really frustrating

Worktroll
Are you able to post?

Brainburn

worktroll

  • Ombudsman
  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 20513
  • 504th "Gateway" Division
    • There are Monsters in my Sky!
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #10 on: 28 February 2011, 17:34:14 »
The above post was made on my Blackberry Bold - what model are you using?

I go to the forum site, and I get a text-only presentation; there's a list of the top-level forums with a number down the side eg.

Quote
Catalyst Game Labs Interaction

[1] Special Announcements

[2] Rules Questions

[3] Errata

etc etc ...

Mind you, pressing the numbers does nothing - you have to click on the name. If the number's all red then there are new posts, if only the right-hand bracket is red then there are new posts in a sub-forum. Same when you go into a forum - posts with a [ #] in front of them.

If I click on a thread, then at the bottom I get the following options:

Quote
[0] Message Index

[1] Mark Unread

Reply

Go to full version

I'm guessing you're on a different version crackberry, which might have a different browser function?

W.
* No, FASA wasn't big on errata - ColBosch
* The Housebook series is from the 80's and is the foundation of Btech, the 80's heart wrapped in heavy metal that beats to this day - Sigma
* To sum it up: FASAnomics: By Cthulhu, for Cthulhu - Moonsword
* Because Battletech is a conspiracy by Habsburg & Bourbon pretenders - MadCapellan
* The Hellbringer is cool, either way. It's not cool because it's bad, it's cool because it's bad with balls - Nightsky
* It was a glorious time for people who felt that we didn't have enough Marauder variants - HABeas2, re "Empires Aflame"

Brainburn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • You just made the list.
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #11 on: 28 February 2011, 17:48:27 »
That is exactly what I get with no option to log in.
If I go to "full version" it will allow me to enter my user/pw and get the "feature not available" error.

I have an 8520 and I used to be able to log in and post via a login link on the page.

I am using the BB browser.

Ideas?

Brainburn

Brainburn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • You just made the list.
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #12 on: 28 February 2011, 17:55:14 »
Just tried again and it says:
An Error Has Occurred
"sorry this secton isn't available for wireless users at this time."

??

Brainburn

{edit}
Confirmation, I did a hard reboot (battery out) and it gave me the option to login again. When I tried I got the above error.
« Last Edit: 28 February 2011, 17:56:58 by Brainburn »

worktroll

  • Ombudsman
  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 20513
  • 504th "Gateway" Division
    • There are Monsters in my Sky!
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #13 on: 28 February 2011, 18:55:14 »
Sounds like a browser problem on your model (aka the Blackberry Curve). I know the Pearl (9100) was a bit of a disaster.

You're not sailing through the Persian Gulf, are you? Last year one of the countries round there (Dubai? Saudi Arabia?) downloaded an "upgrade" to all Blackberries in their region which attempted to install government-sanctioned spyware, except it mainly caused the phones to lock up ...

W.
* No, FASA wasn't big on errata - ColBosch
* The Housebook series is from the 80's and is the foundation of Btech, the 80's heart wrapped in heavy metal that beats to this day - Sigma
* To sum it up: FASAnomics: By Cthulhu, for Cthulhu - Moonsword
* Because Battletech is a conspiracy by Habsburg & Bourbon pretenders - MadCapellan
* The Hellbringer is cool, either way. It's not cool because it's bad, it's cool because it's bad with balls - Nightsky
* It was a glorious time for people who felt that we didn't have enough Marauder variants - HABeas2, re "Empires Aflame"

Brainburn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • You just made the list.
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #14 on: 28 February 2011, 19:37:29 »
nah.. not in the gulf.
Will hit the box before too long but it will be on the ground.

Damn this is annoying.

arrrrrghh!!!!! ok I feel a bit better.

Brainburn

Brainburn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 197
  • You just made the list.
Re: "Feature not available" when trying to log in via BB
« Reply #15 on: 01 March 2011, 09:22:23 »
Holy crap!! I was able to log in.
I had to use the second link (wap2) and it took my user/pw.
Man I was really getting bummed.
So in summary, a BB 8520 needs to use the wap2 link and it can post.

Whew. Thanks guys.
You too Worktroll. ;)