Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Boosted C3 with Normal C3  (Read 2142 times)

StCptMara

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 6010
  • Looking for new Adder skin boots
(Answered) Boosted C3 with Normal C3
« on: 29 September 2013, 05:08:10 »
Given that the combine has a lot of units in the TRO:3145 with Boosted C3 Slaves,
and no boosted C3 Masters, this made me have to wonder:

If I have a unit with a Boosted C3 Slave, will it work with a normal C3 Master?
If it does, does the Boosted C3 Slave still ignore ECM effects when sending but
not in receiving or does ECM stop it because the Master is not calibrated for the
extra whatever that allowed the Boosted C3 Slave to transmit through ECM?


(Sorry...I hope I didn't break the rules question team again...)
« Last Edit: 25 January 2014, 04:19:53 by Xotl »
"Victory or Debt!"- The Battlecry of Mercenaries everywhere

"Greetings, Mechwarrior! You have been recruited by the Star League to defend the frontier against---Oops, wrong universe" - Unknown SLDF Recruiter

Reality and Battletech go hand in hand like a drug induced hallucination and engineering a fusion reactor ;-)

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9253
  • Professor of Errata
Re: Does a Boosted C3 Slave work with a normal C3 Master?
« Reply #1 on: 19 January 2014, 01:36:04 »
Standard and boosted C3 systems can be connected into the same network.  However standard components are still severed from the network by interference from any hostile ECM equipment.

BV is calculated on the basis of links: a boosted master/slave link is charged the 7%, while any non-boosted link (which would include a boosted master to a non-boosted slave and vice-versa) is charged the 5%.
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

StCptMara

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 6010
  • Looking for new Adder skin boots
Re: (Answered) (Errata) Boosted C3 with Normal C3
« Reply #2 on: 19 January 2014, 03:28:14 »
OK, good to know.
Now, one clarification question:

Say my standard Master is outside of ECM, but someone puts my Boosted Slave under
the ECM: Does the Boosted Slave still get counted for the network, but does not
receive data? Or does the Boosted Slave get completely ignored? Or does the
Boosted Slave completely ignore the ECM?
"Victory or Debt!"- The Battlecry of Mercenaries everywhere

"Greetings, Mechwarrior! You have been recruited by the Star League to defend the frontier against---Oops, wrong universe" - Unknown SLDF Recruiter

Reality and Battletech go hand in hand like a drug induced hallucination and engineering a fusion reactor ;-)

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9253
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Answered) (Errata) Boosted C3 with Normal C3
« Reply #3 on: 19 January 2014, 16:02:21 »
Boosted unit connecting to non-Boosted unit in this case is treated as non-Boosted.  That means no data sent in either direction.

The b-slave might be fine, but it receives nothing from the standard Master unit, so it might as well be blocked itself.  C3 is a 2-way street.

« Last Edit: 20 January 2014, 16:28:03 by Xotl »
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0