Register Register

Author Topic: AMS Query  (Read 1169 times)

YingJanshi

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 4337
  • Switch Friend Code: SW-4326-4622-8514
AMS Query
« on: 19 January 2014, 23:56:49 »
Okay, so I'm coming up with a complete blank on this one. I've looked all through TacOps so I don't think I could have missed it. (Maybe in errata though?)


Anyway, was talking to someone and they said you could set your AMS to engage any missiles that went through its arc. (Therefore could protect lance mates.)
(Also said could do the same thing with Aero units, but I haven't looked through StratOps.)


Is this an actual rule, or only home-brew?

Initiate of the Order of Valhalla

...oh gods, I just tried to imagine herding mimetic cats.
The Lyrans aren't losers.  They're...winning impaired.

SteveRestless

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5040
  • Clan Wolf Rho Galaxy "The Altered Beasts"
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #1 on: 19 January 2014, 23:58:21 »
it worked that way in the CCG. and I wish that it worked like that in the tabletop game, but no rules exist to make it do that, that I am aware of.
Want to Track your own unit? Try the LUCK system | NonCanon Units Index!

<Articus> theres coyotes outside <Articus> i can hear them baying <Steve_Restless>  oh shit it's the homeclans <Steve_Restless>  my milkshakes! *Steve_Restless leaps out the window <Articus> His milkshakes bring all the Clans to the yard <Articus> he could teach you, but you'll have to Batchall | <Articus> keep it up mister, and your next shipment of Inferno IV will be ConfettIV

MoneyLovinOgre4Hire

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 17873
  • Wipe your mouth!
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #2 on: 20 January 2014, 00:00:19 »
The closest thing I can think of for that would be the Covering/Protecting movement rule.
Warning: this post may contain sarcasm.

"I think I've just had another near-Rincewind experience," Death, The Color of Magic

"When in doubt, C4." Jamie Hyneman

YingJanshi

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 4337
  • Switch Friend Code: SW-4326-4622-8514
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #3 on: 20 January 2014, 00:08:32 »
The closest thing I can think of for that would be the Covering/Protecting movement rule.

You mean the Shielding movement mode (TacOps p. 19)? Hm...didn't see anything about AMS in there...

Thanks anyway.

Initiate of the Order of Valhalla

...oh gods, I just tried to imagine herding mimetic cats.
The Lyrans aren't losers.  They're...winning impaired.

SteelRaven

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 7306
  • Fight for something or Die for nothing
    • The Steel-Raven at DeviantArt
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #4 on: 20 January 2014, 02:07:06 »
Considering the AMS is more or less a machine gun built to target incoming missiles, I would think the AMS would have the same range as your standard MG so you would have to be standing right next to your lace mate for this to work.
Battletech Art and Commissions
http://steel-raven.deviantart.com

CloaknDagger

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 3791
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #5 on: 20 January 2014, 02:24:06 »
I think you can only do this in Aerotech.

sillybrit

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 3939
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #6 on: 20 January 2014, 02:25:46 »
Anyway, was talking to someone and they said you could set your AMS to engage any missiles that went through its arc. (Therefore could protect lance mates.)
(Also said could do the same thing with Aero units, but I haven't looked through StratOps.)


Is this an actual rule, or only home-brew?

There's nothing I can think of for ground units, but as per SO p97 AMS can attack any missile salvo that crosses its field of fire, even if the unit possessing the AMS isn't the target.

Sounds like a house rule to me.

MoneyLovinOgre4Hire

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 17873
  • Wipe your mouth!
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #7 on: 20 January 2014, 03:46:20 »
You mean the Shielding movement mode (TacOps p. 19)? Hm...didn't see anything about AMS in there...

Thanks anyway.

Yeah, that's the rule I was thinking of.  And I know that there's nothing about AMS in it, just that if you had a Shielding mech with an AMS when there were incoming missiles, it would have an effect if the Shielding mech got hit.
Warning: this post may contain sarcasm.

"I think I've just had another near-Rincewind experience," Death, The Color of Magic

"When in doubt, C4." Jamie Hyneman

RAITH 1313

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 122
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #8 on: 20 January 2014, 14:17:15 »
There's nothing I can think of for ground units, but as per SO p97 AMS can attack any missile salvo that crosses its field of fire, even if the unit possessing the AMS isn't the target.

Sounds like a house rule to me.

Would that be considered a optional or level 3 rule because of being from SO? I had thought for say level 1 or 2 it was considered that a AMS could only engage missles that targeted the AMS equipped unit. I tought I read this somewhere but could have been a older rule. I don't have the books with me to check.  O0

SteveRestless

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 5040
  • Clan Wolf Rho Galaxy "The Altered Beasts"
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #9 on: 20 January 2014, 14:19:44 »
Would that be considered a optional or level 3 rule because of being from SO? I had thought for say level 1 or 2 it was considered that a AMS could only engage missles that targeted the AMS equipped unit. I tought I read this somewhere but could have been a older rule. I don't have the books with me to check.  O0

consulting StratOps, the rules being referred to are for aerospace units.
Want to Track your own unit? Try the LUCK system | NonCanon Units Index!

<Articus> theres coyotes outside <Articus> i can hear them baying <Steve_Restless>  oh shit it's the homeclans <Steve_Restless>  my milkshakes! *Steve_Restless leaps out the window <Articus> His milkshakes bring all the Clans to the yard <Articus> he could teach you, but you'll have to Batchall | <Articus> keep it up mister, and your next shipment of Inferno IV will be ConfettIV

WarGod

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1279
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #10 on: 20 January 2014, 18:57:52 »
yeah I thought ams engaged ay missile flight in its arc.  which made the Black hawk A, and Myst Lynx A so much more useful
A knight in shining armor is a man who has never had his metal truly tested
You're falling through the air in a Grenadier. Style went out the window long before you did.

YingJanshi

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 4337
  • Switch Friend Code: SW-4326-4622-8514
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #11 on: 20 January 2014, 19:45:18 »
There's nothing I can think of for ground units, but as per SO p97 AMS can attack any missile salvo that crosses its field of fire, even if the unit possessing the AMS isn't the target.

Sounds like a house rule to me.

Okay, for the record then...only Aero are allowed to use their AMS in this way. (And only as an optional rule at that.)

Alright, thanks for clearing this up guys.

Initiate of the Order of Valhalla

...oh gods, I just tried to imagine herding mimetic cats.
The Lyrans aren't losers.  They're...winning impaired.

Death or Glory

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Private
  • *
  • Posts: 32
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #12 on: 21 January 2014, 04:20:55 »
Okay, for the record then...only Aero are allowed to use their AMS in this way. (And only as an optional rule at that.)

Alright, thanks for clearing this up guys.

More specifically its an optional rule for DropShips, WarShips, and JumpShips with AMS bays.

serack

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 803
Re: AMS Query
« Reply #13 on: 21 January 2014, 04:23:11 »
or standard rule for smallcraft, making them good anti-missile units in the game :)

 

Register