Author Topic: Is Duane Loose the worst Battletech artist? Let´s discuss Battlemech design  (Read 24794 times)

Domi1981

• Warrant Officer
First of all I don´t want to create a bash thread. But I often found threads like this http://forum.rpg.net/showthread.php?608141-So-what-is-the-Ugliest-Battlemech-anyway/page7
or this
http://www.somethingawful.com/dungeons-and-dragons/battletech-technical-3025/1/
and again its full of Loose´s designs.
Duane Loose helped to create a universe that holds me as a joyful captive since decades and I respect the man. And I know many of you do as well so don´t get overly emotional about the title of this thread. I just like to tease. So have fun discussing. :)

Since I had some free time I spent the last months leafing through my TROs and since I started playing Battletech again I made an awkward experience.
At first I was like "oh I wont like these new designs of mechs". I was kinda lost in this nostalgia bubble.  But after a while I saw more and more of those very nice designs the new mech artists put out in the recent TROs. Apart from looking nice they actually made sense in terms of funcionality of their gear. Not all but many more than the old. IMHO. And then I saw the batch of new figures and gues what, I ordered a whole bunch of mechs. Some old designs and some new.
So I did spent some time comparing the old designs by Duane Loose and the new designs and I have to say what did Loose actually think when making mech feet? Look at this old Ostmechs and the Javeline. They look (again imho) utterly stupid. And what is it about this 80 ton Charger holding this tiny lady colt, or what is it. Yes of course, if you don´t like it don´t buy it. But this is not the focus of this thread. Its about design itself. What makes design good for you and what makes it bad? I´m eager to hear your piece of mind :) Is it just the state of the art of the eighties or is it just bad taste?