Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Nemesis Pods - what does it mean, that a unit is "along the LOS"?  (Read 909 times)

Alfaryn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 183
P. 142 TW, and p. 108 BMM say, that one of the conditions for the Nemesis Pod to divert attacks by Artemis IV-capable, Narc-equipped or semi-guided missiles is that the unit tagged by an enemy Nemesis pod is along the LOS between the attacker and the target. What does it mean exactly? In particular:

1. Does the attacker - original target LOS need to cross a hex with the tagged unit in it?
2. Is the attacker - original target LOS extended beyond the target for the target? In other words can a Nemesis-tagged unit be hit be hit if from the attacker's point of view it is standing behind the original target?
3. Can a Nemesis-tagged unit be hit if it is in the attacker's hex?
4. Can a Nemesis-tagged unit be hit if it is in the original target's hex?
5. What about elevations? For example if the attacker is a 'Mech standing on a Level 3 hill, and is firing at a 'Mech standing on a Level 5 hill can it hit a Nemesis-tagged 'Mech standing in a Level 0 hex between them?
6. What if there is no LOS between the attacker and the original target (the attacker is firing indirectly). Can Nemesis pod divert the fire to a unit standing on a line between the center of the attacker and the original target's hex (a "would be LOS if not for the intervening terrain")? If so, does the Nemesis pod still require a clear LOS between the attacker and the tagged unit to function?
« Last Edit: 01 December 2017, 01:17:08 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Deus Errata et regulas Exsecutor
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9152
  • Professor of Errata
Re: Nemesis Pods - what does it mean, that a unit is "along the LOS"?
« Reply #1 on: 01 December 2017, 01:17:01 »
1: Yes.
2: No.
3: Yes.
4: Yes.
5: Elevation is irrelevant. Yes, we know this can produce some odd situations on extreme maps. It's still irrelevant.
6: Diverting indirect fire is possible, yes. If the new target is also an indirect shot, use the rules for indirectly firing on a NARCed target with no spotter.
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Alfaryn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 183
Ad. 6. What about direct LRM fire? Can it also be redirected to a Nemesis-tagged target the firer has no LOS to (turning direct fire into indirect fire)?

Xotl

  • Deus Errata et regulas Exsecutor
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9152
  • Professor of Errata
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0