Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Damage to UMU units falling to water from above the surface  (Read 1211 times)

Alfaryn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 183
This question is closely tied to Feign's question posted here http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=56464.0, and the answers to it, or even the very validity of this question may depend on answers to that question (which I feel has not been fully answered yet - the current answer does not cover the case of 'Mech falling from a cliff into water for example).

The short version of my question is - what damage an UMU-equipped unit takes if it falls from above unit surface into water hex? Rules on p. 57 TW say that a unit falling from above surface into water hex takes damage twice - once for hitting the water surface, and the second time for hitting the bottom. The answer to Feign's question seem to suggest, that at least in case of an UMU-equipped 'Mech falling from a large naval vessel into Depth 2+ water it does not hit the bottom (and therefore should not take damage for hitting it), but what about:
1. UMU-equipped 'Mechs or other units falling from somewhere else than large naval vessel into water hex (Depth 2+ water for 'Mechs - see p. 295 TO, Depth 1+ for other units)? Do they hit the bottom, and take normal damage? If they don't hit the bottom at what Depth/Elevation do they end up? This question seems valid even if a unit begins it's fall bellow the surface - like when falling from a deck of a submerged submarine, or being pushed from a bottom of a water hex to a deeper water hex?
2. What about a unit at the bottom falling into a swallower hex (after a push - p.147 TW/charge - p. 148 TW/domino effect - p. 152 TW for example), a hex with the same depth, or just the same hex (same situations as before plus kicks p. 147 TW, failed PSRs for entering a water hex if a 'Mech is walking, or falls resulting from taken damage)? I would assume, that UMUs don't help in those such cases. Is that correct?
3. What about a UMU-equipped 'Mech in water, but not standing at the bottom? Can it even fall as a result of damage taken, physical attack or domino effect? What if a physical attack or domino effect moves such 'Mech into a swallower hex, then 'Mechs current depth?
4. What about damage for hitting the surface? If a unit falls from a hex or a deck of a large naval vessel, that is above water into water hex, I would assume, that UMUs don't protect from damage from hitting the water surface regardless of whether the water is deep enough for the unit to use UMUs in it or not.
« Last Edit: 09 December 2017, 03:13:55 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Deus Errata et regulas Exsecutor
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9152
  • Professor of Errata
1. Units use normal Falling rules regardless of whether they have UMU or not.  See also the answer to question 3 for a situation where UMU prevent Falling.

2. Normal rules for falling apply in those situations; see also answer 3.

3. While using UMU MP, a unit cannot Fall.  TO will need errata to clarify.  This applies to displacement as well, unless the unit is displaced in to a hex where the UMU no longer work (Depth 1 for a 'Mech, for example)

4. Correct: damage from hitting the surface always applies, since UMU only work in Depth 2 or deeper.  The thread you link to has a situation where no falling damage of any kind occurs; this answer applies to a normal fall.


Errata need:

TO p. 295
"When underwater, a unit can use its UMUs to maneuver like a submarine, receiving 1 Cruising MP per operational UMU."

AFTER THIS ADD

"Units using UMU MP do not make Piloting Skill Rolls to avoid Falling. If Displacement causes the unit to enter a hex where UMU MP cannot be used, resolve an automatic fall, using all applicable modifiers."
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Alfaryn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 183
Ad. 3. What about situations, when a unit gets temporarily disabled (like reactor shutdown, or pilot unconsciousness)? Also since 'Mechs need Depth 2+ to use UMU, do they fall if they lose a gyro?

Assuming that a UMU capable 'Mech can avoid falling to the bottom if it's pilot becomes unconscious while using UMU movement, what if a UMU-capable 'Mech falls into depth 2+ water with an already unconscious pilot? Will the 'Mech still float, or hit the bottom?

Xotl

  • Deus Errata et regulas Exsecutor
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9152
  • Professor of Errata
Anything that would kill movement/UMUs will cause a fall.  Also, losing a gyro would cause them to fall.
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Alfaryn

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 183
Thanks. Seems like this bit about reactor shutdowns pilot unconsciousness etc. could be added to the errata for TO p. 295 mentioned above, though I may be nitpicking.

 

Register