Register Register

Author Topic: Commanders Edition - What's in it?  (Read 5968 times)

SC_Dave

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 167
Re: Commanders Edition - What's in it?
« Reply #90 on: 23 July 2019, 19:08:42 »
p41 Submerged Units.  water over your height = completely submerged.  water at least 1" deep but less than unit's height (ie. a mech) = partially submerged.  but both are submerged.
p48 Underwater Damage. Every successful attack against a submerged unit generated a Critical Hit, even if there is no structure damage.

This is at odds with what you previously posted in the official rules questions thread: https://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=55748.0

Has the ruling changed? (It was a couple of years ago.)

SC_Dave

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 167
Re: Commanders Edition - What's in it?
« Reply #91 on: 19 September 2019, 05:38:34 »
Just bumping to see if I can get an answer to my last without heading over to rules questions.

Cache

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2092
    • Lords of the Battlefield
Re: Commanders Edition - What's in it?
« Reply #92 on: 19 September 2019, 14:41:01 »
This is at odds with what you previously posted in the official rules questions thread: https://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=55748.0

Has the ruling changed? (It was a couple of years ago.)
Newer statement is about Alpha Strike: Commander's Edition. Previous statement was Alpha Strike. There are a lot of differences between the two.

SLDF_Gunslinger

  • Corporal
  • *
  • Posts: 77
Re: Commanders Edition - What's in it?
« Reply #93 on: 22 September 2019, 14:01:41 »
A unit conversion PDF is still just an idea, not an active project/product.  Ie. Don’t expect it soon.

I have not heard any plans for quirks.

Are the CBT to AS PV calculations in the AS Companion still valid? Are those the calculations used for the MUL? Aka: are these rules still current for the supporting products?

« Last Edit: 22 September 2019, 14:06:14 by SLDF_Gunslinger »

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 8622
  • Painted by Mastergunz
Re: Commanders Edition - What's in it?
« Reply #94 on: 22 September 2019, 14:54:56 »
With the errata to the Companion. Yes.
Master Unit List - List of all canon units, faction availabilities, Alpha Strike unit cards, Battle Values
Combat Manual Lite series - Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots.

ThePW

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 261
  • One post down, a thousand to go...
Re: Commanders Edition - What's in it?
« Reply #95 on: 14 November 2019, 12:26:53 »
When i searching the MUL today, I noticed that SRCH has been removed from (apparently) a large portion of the units (mainly Battlemechs) that used to have searchlights as either as legacy fluff (such as the Warhammer) or because of visual cues based on artist intent, both that tends to support The Search Light Quirk. Anyone know what is going on?

nckestrel

  • Scientia Bellator
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 8622
  • Painted by Mastergunz
Re: Commanders Edition - What's in it?
« Reply #96 on: 14 November 2019, 13:03:54 »
ASCE p62 "These modifiers [darkness] are negated if the attacking unit is a BattleMech or has the Searchlight (SRCH) special ability"
Listing SRCH for BattleMechs would be redundant.

Quick Strike cards had SRCH, SOA, SEAL, ES for all BattleMechs. I can't remember if we switched to dropping the redundancy with the change to Alpha Strike, or if it was a while later, but it was long before Commander's Edition.
Master Unit List - List of all canon units, faction availabilities, Alpha Strike unit cards, Battle Values
Combat Manual Lite series - Steiner, Liao, Marik, Calderon, Invading Clans, Comstar. Also Record Sheets for the CM: Kurita and CM: Mercs unique pilots.


ThePW

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 261
  • One post down, a thousand to go...
Re: Commanders Edition - What's in it?
« Reply #98 on: 14 November 2019, 23:36:48 »
So.... all 'mechs have a search light installed (for purposes of handling the various night time/low light modifiers in various publications) thus usually do not have to worry about applying a penalty to To-Hit rolls? For which rule set: BT, AS or both? Just wondered if this is just something I've played the rules wrong... :D

 

Register