Register Register

Author Topic: (Research) DFA vs. submerged target mech  (Read 434 times)

Grim Gunner

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 5
(Research) DFA vs. submerged target mech
« on: 10 November 2019, 14:38:37 »
Hello! Okay, rules lawyers, I have another interesting question for you.

Situation: Attacking mech declares DFA against target mech standing in depth 1 water. Target mech takes 20 points of damage in shooting phase, fails PSR and falls, leaving target mech submerged in water.

Question: Does DFA still have chance to connect, does DFA fail or is DFA invalidated?

I know physical attacks against targets in water must originate and connect against target on same "plane" (i.e. attacks originating from above the water's surface cannot hit targets below the surface) but am uncertain how and if timing of a DFA is affected. If DFA is invalid, where does attacking mech land, e.g. in target hex (target displaced) or in adjacent frontal hex/hexes of target mech?

This situation happened during our weekly game yesterday and though I searched several of my rulebooks I did not come up with the answer in a timely fashion. Thanks in advance!
« Last Edit: 10 November 2019, 23:42:31 by Xotl »

Grim Gunner

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: (Research) DFA vs. submerged target mech
« Reply #1 on: 10 December 2019, 22:15:20 »
Bump #1. Help us, Xotl! You are our only hope to unraveling this mystery!

Xotl

  • Deus Errata et regulas Exsecutor
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9097
  • Professor of Errata
Re: (Research) DFA vs. submerged target mech
« Reply #2 on: 11 December 2019, 00:28:07 »
Sorry, I'll dig into this again in the next few days.
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

Grim Gunner

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Re: (Research) DFA vs. submerged target mech
« Reply #3 on: 11 January 2020, 21:50:24 »
Bu-bu-bu-bump.

 

Register