Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) "Intervening water blocks LOS"  (Read 160 times)

sunsanvil

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 1
(Answered) "Intervening water blocks LOS"
« on: 08 December 2019, 13:51:58 »
From the rule book: "Water: Intervening water blocks LOS for the purpose of these rules".



It has been suggested that that rule means these two mechs might not have line of sight to each other.

Can anyone suggest an authoritative clarification on the subject?

Thanks.
« Last Edit: 09 December 2019, 21:36:43 by sunsanvil »

Xotl

  • Deus Errata et regulas Exsecutor
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9097
  • Professor of Errata
Re: "Intervening water blocks LOS"
« Reply #1 on: 09 December 2019, 15:29:29 »
For BT, intervening means "in the way", not "in between".  The quoted rules passage thus is saying that you can't see a submerged unit when using the intro box rules, because at that point the water is intervening.  But water just lying at your feet along the LOS has no effect on LOS.  And if both of you are in level 1 water, you can still see and shoot at each other as well (each would have partial cover).

(More advanced rulesets like TW and the BMM allow submerged units to see each other and then provides underwater combat rules, but the intro box doesn't in the name of simplicity; hence the "for the purposes of these rules" part.)
3028-3050 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info and Quirk lists.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0