Register Register

Author Topic: MechWarriorFox's Crazy weapon ideas (be standard or fangame/fic driven)  (Read 651 times)

MechWarriorFox

• Corporal
So, I've decided to put my hand into the weapon idea ring.

So, disclaimer, this is my first time doing this and I am going to make mistakes. So don't metaphorically murder me because I got something wrong. Any and all stats aren't final.

Now to begin, I've got an idea to start things out:
Auto Gauss Rifle: the gauss version of the autocannon, this might sound similar to the HAG family of weapons but instead of firing a cluster of munitions, it fires a stream more akin to the autocannon. Due to this, they straddle the line between autocannon and gauss rifles, not having the sheer power and range of the gauss rifle while having only a good portion of the flexibility of the autocannon. It is something akin to someone going mad scientist on both gauss rifles and autocannons.

AGR-2: Long-range sniper weapon that doesn't require an entire 'mech to be built around it. It can reach further than an AC-2 with a bit more damage but requires more crits and more tonnage as part of the package.
AGR-5: The Mario of the weapon family, a bit heavier and larger (in crits) than its autocannon cousin, it has the range of an AC-2 with slightly improved 'oomph'.
AGR-10: The brawler of the weapon family, it is useful at short-medium to short-range but it is fairly hefty.
AGR-20: The head capper of the family and the shortest range weapon of the family. It has more range than it's AC counterpart but is more massive and larger (in crits) as well.

Hptm. Streiger

• Lieutenant
General, there is nothing wrong with an automatic gun using magnetic coils instead of propellant to spit out bullets.

However, my main issue with your proposal: the so-called flexibility of autocannons comes for the price of terrible optional rules or IMHO even worse optional ammunition.