Register Register

Author Topic: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech  (Read 459 times)

Dahmin_Toran

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 110
Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« on: 18 February 2020, 02:12:08 »
When a Mech is destroyed when it's Center Torso is completely destroyed (not by Ammo Explosion, Artillery, or Area Effect weapons), does the Mechwarrior automatically take a Point of Damage when the mech crashes to a heap on the ground like a shutdown mech?

MoneyLovinOgre4Hire

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 18046
  • Wipe your mouth!
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #1 on: 18 February 2020, 03:06:58 »
If they don't eject, they'd definitely take at least 1 point of damage from that kind of fall.
Warning: this post may contain sarcasm.

"I think I've just had another near-Rincewind experience," Death, The Color of Magic

"When in doubt, C4." Jamie Hyneman

Colt Ward

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 20037
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #2 on: 18 February 2020, 11:11:13 »
Yeah, I am going to agree with MLO4H- at least one point of damage and I would say its 50-50 on if they are going to need special equipment to get open the cockpit to release the pilot.
Colt Ward

Beware the vengeance of a patient man.
Clan Invasion Backer #149

Sartris

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11344
  • CR 21 Bullshit Elemental
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #3 on: 18 February 2020, 11:14:17 »
I play it that any time you'd normally make a PSR to prevent pilot damage but can't make the roll, you take damage as if you'd failed the roll

Colt Ward

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 20037
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #4 on: 18 February 2020, 11:24:43 »
Yeah, that would be intuitive based on what happens when the mech's engine is shut down.
Colt Ward

Beware the vengeance of a patient man.
Clan Invasion Backer #149

Weirdo

  • Painter of Borth the Magic Puma
  • Global Moderator
  • Lieutenant General
  • *
  • Posts: 34926
  • Carpe Arcanum Cibum
    • Christina Dickinson Writes
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #5 on: 18 February 2020, 12:25:01 »
By definition, a mech that has lost its center torso has lost its gyro, and at least one leg. Therefore, you make a piloting skill roll, adding the relevant modifiers for that damage. If you fail, you take a point. If you by some miracle succeed, you managed to ride it down safely, and are free to wander around a high-energy battlefield in your 80s short shorts. Good luck.
"Thanks to Megamek, I can finally play BattleTech the way it was meant to be played--pantsless!"   -Neko Bijin
"It's just that the Hegemony had one answer to every naval problem. 'I kills it with my battleships.'" - Liam's Ghost
"...finally, giant space panties don't seem so strange." - Whistler
"Damn you, Weirdo... Damn you for being right!" - Paul
"...I was this many years old when I found out that licking a touchscreen in excitement is a bad idea." - JadeHellbringer
"We are the tribal elders. Weirdo is the mushroom specialist." - Worktroll

Kit deSummersville

  • Precentor of Lies
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 9590
  • The epicness continues!
    • Insights and Complaints on Twitter
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #6 on: 18 February 2020, 13:03:21 »
Unless you're riding in a 'Mech with a center torso cockpit, then things might be a bit messier.
Looking for an official answer? Check the Catalyst Interaction Forums.

Freelancer for hire, not an official CGL or IMR representative.

Everyone else's job is easy, so tell them how to do it, everyone loves that!

Millard Fillmore's favorite BattleTech writer.

MoneyLovinOgre4Hire

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 18046
  • Wipe your mouth!
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #7 on: 18 February 2020, 13:07:53 »
That's sort of your fault for riding in a torso-mounted cockpit to begin with.
Warning: this post may contain sarcasm.

"I think I've just had another near-Rincewind experience," Death, The Color of Magic

"When in doubt, C4." Jamie Hyneman

Col Toda

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2225
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #8 on: 21 February 2020, 07:59:21 »
Never saw the value to a torso mounted  cockpit  . I like to field hovertanks with machine gun arrays /4. Normally  have them attack a torso w ammo shooting  for the 2 or 12 hit . Even in an Assault mech the torso is hit 6x or more than the head

Kovax

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2162
  • Taking over the Universe one mapsheet at a time
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #9 on: 21 February 2020, 14:05:00 »
Yeah, I am going to agree with MLO4H- at least one point of damage and I would say its 50-50 on if they are going to need special equipment to get open the cockpit to release the pilot.
I'd assume that there's a hatch which is normally easy to access, but MIGHT be blocked if the 'Mech landed on that side or otherwise impeded the opening of the hatch.  More like a 1 in 3 or 1 in 4 chance that it's not usable, but still a potential problem.  Then there's the 'Mech that gets its torso breached while underwater....  You're just fine until the air runs out.  Does the hatch open inward or outward; in the latter case it might be difficult pushing it open against a couple of tons of water pressure (only a few pounds per square inch, but multiplied by the size of the hatch).

Colt Ward

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 20037
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #10 on: 21 February 2020, 15:06:12 »
The armor of the head & hatch can be warped by the damage that did in the mech, or just the 8-14 meter fall as the whole thing looses structural integrity.  And remember, because it seals for protection and environmental protection the hatch will not have a lot of leeway for warping.  When the mech starts to come apart, you never know if something is going to land next to the head to bury the hatch in a few tons of wrecked structure and armor.

Not to mention, the whole head could fall as the mech comes apart to the point the hatch is on the bottom pressed against the ground.
Colt Ward

Beware the vengeance of a patient man.
Clan Invasion Backer #149

Shin Ji

  • Master Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 397
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #11 on: 26 February 2020, 13:32:12 »
Wouldn't you automatically eject in that situation? Unless your mech lacked an ejection system, which I know some do.

Colt Ward

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 20037
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #12 on: 26 February 2020, 13:38:10 »
It could be disabled . . . if I had CASE on a SFE or Clan XL, or CASE II, I would be disabling the auto-eject.  Additionally, if you want to get fluff . . . its not going to work all the time or work right all the time either- too much systems or critical damage.
Colt Ward

Beware the vengeance of a patient man.
Clan Invasion Backer #149

BATTLEMASTER

  • Warrant Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 673
  • Lego Hellbringers are tougher than the real thing!
    • MegaMek Project
Re: Mechwarrior Damage in a Destroyed Mech
« Reply #13 on: 04 March 2020, 15:08:49 »
Don't the skin-of-teeth ejection rules cover that scenario regardless of automatic ejection being disabled for ammo explosions?
BATTLEMASTER
Trombone Player, Lego Enthusiast, Engineer
"You better stand back, I'm not sure how loud this thing can get!"
If you like Lego, you'll like my Lego battlemech projects!

 

Register