Register Register

Author Topic: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System  (Read 895 times)

Colt Ward

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 17349
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« on: 25 September 2018, 10:49:53 »
So . . . if I get this right . . .

It can only be used on mechs, unlike the BA Mag Clamps?
It reduces the speed, but how much?
Colt Ward

Beware the vengeance of a patient man.
Clan Invasion Backer #149

RoundTop

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1306
  • In Takashi We Trust
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #1 on: 25 September 2018, 14:06:57 »
http://www.sarna.net/wiki/Magnetic_Clamp_System_(ProtoMech)

So external cargo rules. TW p.261.

So let's take a 40 ton mech. It can carry up to 1/4 its weight (10 tons), which with the protomech adjustment of -3 tons each, carrying two of them, so it could carry 2 8-ton protomechs, and it would reduce walking MP by 3 or half the walking MP, whichever is less.

So a Battle Cobra, at 40t, moving 6/9, would become 3/5 when carrying 2 protomechs with mag-clamps.
No-Dachi has a counter-argument. Nothing further? Ok.
Demo team agent #772

Colt Ward

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 17349
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #2 on: 25 September 2018, 14:22:31 »
Okay, so is the -3t just for Omnis?  a regular battlemech has the proto at full weight?  Does the weight amount allow it to vary?  I have not used these rules though I know the discussion came up at times over the years I just never had a reason to look at external cargo.
« Last Edit: 25 September 2018, 14:24:04 by Colt Ward »
Colt Ward

Beware the vengeance of a patient man.
Clan Invasion Backer #149

RoundTop

  • Catalyst Demo Team
  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1306
  • In Takashi We Trust
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #3 on: 25 September 2018, 16:06:20 »
Okay, so is the -3t just for Omnis?  a regular battlemech has the proto at full weight?  Does the weight amount allow it to vary?  I have not used these rules though I know the discussion came up at times over the years I just never had a reason to look at external cargo.

Correct. Omnimechs are (fluff) designed that their computers can take different weight distributions of the different loadouts, so can adjust as needed.

The cargo rule is -3MP (or half MP if less) if you are carrying up to 1/4 weight, up to 1/2 weight carried it is half MP.  And you can only carry 2 (up to 9t), or 1 (10t+) per mech.
No-Dachi has a counter-argument. Nothing further? Ok.
Demo team agent #772

Maingunnery

  • Major
  • *
  • Posts: 4779
  • Pirates and C3 masters are on the hitlist
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #4 on: 25 September 2018, 16:10:01 »

Here is an in-depth fan article about the system:

https://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php/topic,45757.0.html
Herb: "Well, now I guess we'll HAVE to print it. Sounds almost like the apocalypse I've been working for...."

Fan XTRO: The Society

Colt Ward

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 17349
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #5 on: 25 September 2018, 16:10:54 »
okay . . . so a proto that is less than a 1/10th of the mech's weight, but not a Omni?
Colt Ward

Beware the vengeance of a patient man.
Clan Invasion Backer #149

glitterboy2098

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 8302
    • The Temple Grounds - My Roleplaying and History website
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #6 on: 25 September 2018, 17:16:40 »
something like an Gargoyle/Man-o-war would be useful for proto-delivery.. at 80 tons it could carry up to an 11 ton proto without hinderence, and the 5/8 speed would be useful. the Executioner, with its 4/6[8] movement profile at 95 tons, would also be pretty good, able to carry nearly any MCS equipped proto without losing speed.

and i just realized that with the Omni discount, a Fire Moth could carry a Roc Z...  >:D
« Last Edit: 25 September 2018, 17:39:14 by glitterboy2098 »

Colt Ward

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 17349
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #7 on: 25 September 2018, 17:18:15 »
I was scanning that linked . . . does it take a MP to unload them?
Colt Ward

Beware the vengeance of a patient man.
Clan Invasion Backer #149

Xeno426

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 180
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #8 on: 23 November 2018, 01:17:48 »
It acts like loading/unloading mechanized BA, so yeah.

Starbuck

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 140
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #9 on: 25 November 2018, 12:21:48 »
I was scanning that linked . . . does it take a MP to unload them?

It acts like loading/unloading mechanized BA, so yeah.

no. dismounting does not cost the carrier any MP. not anymore.

see errata for TW:

Dismounting (p. 225)
1) Delete the second paragraph (first full para on the page: “Vehicles, including VTOLs, must spend 1 MP to dismount each infantry unit ...”)

Infantry Dismounting [example text] (pp. 225-226)
Remove all references to units expending MP to allow their infantry to dismount.



and in case someone wants to argue a vehicle is not a 'mech, TW (3rd printing, p. 227) says:

A battle armor unit mounts and dismounts an Omni just like a conventional infantry unit mounting or dismounting a vehicle (see p. 223).
"You promised me Mars colonies. Instead, I got Facebook."
Buzz Aldrin

Xeno426

  • Sergeant
  • *
  • Posts: 180
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #10 on: 25 November 2018, 14:42:03 »
Wait, so does that mean a unit can disgorge its entire infantry compliment in one turn?
« Last Edit: 25 November 2018, 17:08:53 by Xeno426 »

Firesprocket

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2288
  • I like sausage
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #11 on: 25 November 2018, 21:13:57 »
pg 224 states only one unit can disembark per turn.  'also, no more than one infantry unit can dismount into a target hex in a turn.'  Stacking rules still necessarily apply.

Colt Ward

  • Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 17349
  • Gott Mit Uns
    • Merc Periphery Guide- Bakunin
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #12 on: 26 November 2018, 14:27:35 »
Except, IIRC the superheavy VTOLs?  I seem to remember something about them putting INF/BA into neighboring hexes.

And JJ-equipped BA exiting a flying VTOL may count differently.
Colt Ward

Beware the vengeance of a patient man.
Clan Invasion Backer #149

Firesprocket

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 2288
  • I like sausage
Re: Using the ProtoMech Mag Clamp System
« Reply #13 on: 27 November 2018, 04:24:02 »
The wording in the most recent TW does not distinguish a difference between it and other vehicles deploying BA or infantry.  The only distinction it makes is that a unit jumping out out of the VTOL can legally do so.  If the jump value is effected by a restriction such as a DWP has to be ejected and it hasn't then the unit can't jump out of the VTOL.  As for the super heavy, I didn't look into it.  I don't tend to play with them so haven't looked over their rules.

 

Register