Author Topic: XNA 3D Hex Map system  (Read 85369 times)

Trent

• Sergeant
XNA 3D Hex Map system
« on: 22 August 2011, 14:35:31 »
First, hello everyone! I'm new to the board.

I've been interested in Battletech for .. ohh.. 25 years? Been messing around the last few days with a 3d hex game engine (which I'm writing from scratch). I've played MegaMek a few times (faster than playing on a tabletop) but it's .. sluggish.

After 4 days I've ended up here:

(Threw some freebie 3D tank & tree models in to start out my terrain object / unit engine) 

Zoomed out on map size 40

Zoomed out on map size 320

So far I only have the basic camera, texture, heightmap, and specular lighting engine done. But, considering I've only had 4 days to work on it, and it's my first attempt at a 3D game..  I think it's going rather well, all things  considered. Still need to do bumpmapping, water, skybox,  multiterrain, etc etc.. lots of work. :)

The large map shown above is currently rendering at 60fps on a 460gtx / i7. It's built in MS XNA4 on the .NET framework with DX10+ compatibility - meaning, the engine will compile and run on XBox or PC.

The question I have is this... what is "legal" with regards to licensing the Battletech engine as it pertains to computer games?

FYI I own a software company, but so far, this is just a side-project as a hobby.

cavingjan

• Spelunca Custos
  • BattleTech Volunteer
  • Major
    • warrenborn
Re: XNA 3D Hex Map system
« Reply #1 on: 22 August 2011, 14:45:45 »
Licensing would need to be directed toward Microsoft.

mbear

• Stood Far Back When The Gravitas Was Handed Out
  • Major
    • Tower of Jade
« Reply #2 on: 22 August 2011, 14:50:26 »
The question I have is this... what is "legal" with regards to licensing the Battletech engine as it pertains to computer games?