Register Register

Author Topic: Is there any way for a battle armor without ammunition to attack infantry?  (Read 608 times)

wwbc

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Well, my English is not good, maybe I can't express myself clearly :(

And I'm a  green to this game,so If I am asking a stupid question, sorry,I didn't mean to it :(

The "Is standard battle armor [SRM]" It seems that it does not carry any additional ammunition or other weapons except srm, so its srm can only fire once, and then there is no weapon to fire. So, after that, is there a way for the battle armor to conduct physical attack on infantry units? I mean, they have battle claws, don't they? Can't they be used for physical attack? :P
« Last Edit: 19 October 2022, 10:25:59 by wwbc »

Lanceman

  • Warrant Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 504
  • Blake Be Praised
BA have to be equipped with "Vibro-Claws" in order to do physical attacks against infantry. The standard "battle claw" allows for swarm attacks against `Mechs only.
"Pure truth cannot be assimilated by the crowd; it must be communicated by contagion" -  Henri-Frédéric Amiel

wwbc

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 4
BA have to be equipped with "Vibro-Claws" in order to do physical attacks against infantry. The standard "battle claw" allows for swarm attacks against `Mechs only.
Thank you! ;) So if my BA has run out of ammunition and is not equipped with Vibro Claw, they just completely harmless to against infantry,right?

Lanceman

  • Warrant Officer
  • *
  • Posts: 504
  • Blake Be Praised
In this case, yes. They can still rip a BattleMech apart with a successful swarm, but can't do anything against infantry, just a quirk of the tabletop rules. So if you are going to use the SRM Standard Suit, let it focus on `mechs and vehicles, and give it a little backup for infantry squads.
"Pure truth cannot be assimilated by the crowd; it must be communicated by contagion" -  Henri-Frédéric Amiel

ThePW

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1029
  • One post down, a thousand to g... Oh we're here?
Once that particular BA has used its OS weapon, because it lacks other means to hurt anything (outside of Anti-mech Attacks), it's only battlefield use is Spotting for Indirect Fire (or possibly for benefits of Artillery, if it has particular applicable SPAs to aid Artillery units)

Doesn't the IS BA [SRM] become classified as Crippled in MM, once the OS SRM is used?
Even my Page posting rate is better than my KPD rate IG...

2Feb2023: The day my main toon on DDO/Cannith, an Artificer typically in the back, TANKED in a LH VoD.

wwbc

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 4
Once that particular BA has used its OS weapon, because it lacks other means to hurt anything (outside of Anti-mech Attacks), it's only battlefield use is Spotting for Indirect Fire (or possibly for benefits of Artillery, if it has particular applicable SPAs to aid Artillery units)

Doesn't the IS BA [SRM] become classified as Crippled in MM, once the OS SRM is used?
No, they won't be classified as Crippled, and they'll still be alive and kicking on the battlefield...until enemy infantry fires on them. xp

ThePW

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1029
  • One post down, a thousand to g... Oh we're here?
IN MM, you mean. On table top? They would legally be crippled because they no longer are able to deal at least 5 points of damage/turn. Technically. Sure you would probably have to actually excite 3 troopers to cripple the unit in the traditional manner IG but on table top? It can be argued successfully that it isn't required to kill three/four/five troopers (Depending on formation type) against a unit that no longer does effective game damage...

that's what i meant in explanation, sir. :D

edited to reflect my old age: Any BA that can do an Anti-Mech Attack still does 4 pts of damage and a critical hit roll. So no, while the unit cannot do ranged (or point blank damage), If they can perform an Anti-Mech Attack, they are still a danger. The question then is, Can it ( because some BA units come equipped with equipment/weapon that must be dropped from the unit before it can perform other actions (example, The Longinus BA requires the SRM module to be removed before it can use JUMP Movement Points https://www.sarna.net/wiki/Longinus )
« Last Edit: 26 October 2022, 16:52:44 by ThePW »
Even my Page posting rate is better than my KPD rate IG...

2Feb2023: The day my main toon on DDO/Cannith, an Artificer typically in the back, TANKED in a LH VoD.

wwbc

  • Recruit
  • *
  • Posts: 4
IN MM, you mean. On table top? They would legally be crippled because they no longer are able to deal at least 5 points of damage/turn. Technically. Sure you would probably have to actually excite 3 troopers to cripple the unit in the traditional manner IG but on table top? It can be argued successfully that it isn't required to kill three/four/five troopers (Depending on formation type) against a unit that no longer does effective game damage...

that's what i meant in explanation, sir. :D
I see, um... It's little bit complicated but thank you

dgorsman

  • Captain
  • *
  • Posts: 1852
In this case, yes. They can still rip a BattleMech apart with a successful swarm, but can't do anything against infantry, just a quirk of the tabletop rules. So if you are going to use the SRM Standard Suit, let it focus on `mechs and vehicles, and give it a little backup for infantry squads.

They can swarm a Mech or vehicle, but cannot do any damage - you need weapons to fire to do damage after swarming.  Doesn't matter much, as SRM equipped IS Standard suits don't have any direct fire weapons in the first place.  You can do leg attacks against Mechs though.
Think about it.  It's what we do.
- The Society

Thunder LRMs: the gift that keeps on giving.  They're the glitter of the BattleTech universe.