Register Register

Author Topic: Two ATB campaign questions  (Read 1708 times)

plothos

• Recruit
Two ATB campaign questions
« on: 29 October 2021, 12:00:19 »
I've read a lot of posts about the first of these inquiries, but haven't found much about the second. I've read what I can find in the ATB documentation, but questions persist, so I thought I'd float them, because I feel like I'm missing something important.

The first concerns shares and retirement. I know that I can turn off retirement rolls and that I can modify the rolls as well, so I'm not so much asking because it's breaking my game, but more that I'm wondering "That can't really be how this is supposed to work, can it?"

Basically, and I'm new to all this, running my first try at a campaign. I gave myself a bunch of staff and a good chunk of starting money, some good mechs, etc. because I knew it'd be complicated and I didn't need it to be punishing before I had it figured out. So I was fine getting past this and playing on. But omg, that first after-contract retirement roll was a big wtf moment! I take a contract for some 20mil, and get a few mil in salvage along the way, spend some on repairs, etc. I have shares enabled (I think it was on by default?) because it says it may help retention and I wanted to keep a happy crew and get them leveled up. But the shares hit me like a freight train at the end of the contract, to the tune of 20mil! So at first, I'm like, wait what the actual frick? I spend 20 mil at the end of a 20 mil contract after paying these guys a salary the whole time. Like, they seriously expect all gross revenue in return on top of salary?? As far as I could see, there wasn't any way to adjust the amounts? But this is like 1mil per dude, when they're getting paid like 10-20k over 6 months. So, they expect a bonus of 50x salary at the end??? Then, after paying this, 1/3 of them "retire," which is to say the 25 year old mech driver who signed on for 2k/month up and leaves after 6 months