Register Register

Author Topic: New/returning player - Color scheme for mechs  (Read 827 times)

Rakashu

• Recruit
New/returning player - Color scheme for mechs
« on: 22 January 2022, 07:07:24 »
Hi there! I’m getting back into BattleTech after at least 20 years as I rediscovered miniature gaming. This time around I have embraced hobby and focus on whole experience, finding a game I like, painting all the minis, reading all the rules, and then playing (usually with my son who is 10 years old). I especially enjoy painting process due to its esthetical and functional aspect (you try to paint something nice that you can later use). I’m a novice as I have only completed 4 projects during my 2 years run. BattleTech was always on my radar as it was my favorite tabletop game of my youth. And as I finished my latest project, I feel it’s time for BattleTech.

Since last year I have managed to acquire Begginer Box, A game of Armoured Combat, Clan Invasion Box, Inner Sphere Command Lance, Clam Command Star, Inner Sphere Battle Lance, Clan Heavy Striker Star, Inner Sphere Heavy Lance, Clan Support Star, Clan Heavy Battle Star, Inner Sphere Striker Lance.

While I started cleanup process, I realized that this time around I have a lot of freedom in choosing color schemes for minis (up until now I was painting fantasy dungeon crawlers and tried to match miniatures with artwork). So naturally I got overwhelmed with options and felt I needed some guidance.

My initial thought was to just pick one of the color schemas from alpha strike cards included for each mech. They are varied as far as I can tell and would make mechs very recognizable while playing. On the other hand, I really like the idea of choosing a color schema for a lance/star to get more coherent teams while playing. Only drawback I can think of is that mixing mechs might feel weird if both players pick mechs from the same lance.