Register Register

Author Topic: The Big Chill in Texas  (Read 1405 times)

Thantos13

• Corporal
Re: The Big Chill in Texas
« Reply #90 on: 23 February 2021, 09:03:28 »
In most states there DO exist laws to deal with that-especially if the utility in question failed to deliver in a steady, regular manner.  (for example, failing to deliver the billed hours).

Whether that's so in Texas? I don't know.

I'm not an expert.  or a lawyer. I don't even play one on television.

My gut, however, questions how they expect to collect on that 16,000 dollar bill from someone whose normal bill is around 80-120, there's a limit to the amount of blood you can squeeze from a stone.

To give the bills some context. The ethanol plant I worked at made it through a year of Covid-19 slow downs (low consumer use) only to be shut down by natural gas prices. In 3 days the price at use increased +14000% ($3.20 a unit to $450 a unit). We could shut down, with the added benefit of lessening the demand.

Garrand

• Master Sergeant
  • "Nicht kleckern, klotzen!"
« Reply #91 on: 23 February 2021, 15:27:38 »
My gut, however, questions how they expect to collect on that 16,000 dollar bill from someone whose normal bill is around 80-120, there's a limit to the amount of blood you can squeeze from a stone.