Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Internal Bomb Bay Design Quirk questions  (Read 1644 times)

PuppyLikesLaserPointers

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1322
(Answered) Internal Bomb Bay Design Quirk questions
« on: 19 May 2021, 02:11:31 »
Internal Bomb Bay(195. SO) lets the unit to use up to six bombs each turn. But...

1: Can the unit use it with the other hardpoints on the same time? For example, an Aerospace Fighter with Internal Bomb Bay and cargo slot carries some bombs in the cargo slot as well as its hardpoint, then when making Bombing attack(245.TW) can you use both of them at once, or you have to choose either hardpoint or Internal Bomb Bay but not both?

2: There are the bombs that is not used for Bombing attack, such as Air to Air Arrow Missile(357.TO) Anti-Ship Missile and Arrow IV Homing Missile(358.TO). So...
2-1: Can a unit with Internal Bomb Bay use such bombs that is not used for Bombing attack normally?
2-2: It was already answered that you may use up to 6 bombs, regardless of their size. Then, if 2-1 is correct, can the said unit also fire up to 6 missiles per a turn, include Artillery phase and Weapon Attack phase?
2-3: What if the said unit is making an attack with non-Bombing attack bombs, and does not making the Bombing attack that turn, then struck by the ground fire on the same turn? Is it also roll of 10+ to be damaged normally, or such penalty is only applied on the turn it is Bombing? Since it is expected to have 'Internal Bomb Bay' on its Below side for it is expected to use normal bombs I think that it still required to roll it anyways, but I want a double check.
2-3-1: What if a unit makes non-Bombing attack with Internal Bomb Bay then making Bombing attack by its hardpoint(but not Internal Bomb Bay this time) on the same turn? I think that it is possible to shoot Arrow IV Homing(see above)/Non-Homing Missile(359.TO) then issue a Bombing attack on the same turn so it may happen.
« Last Edit: 30 October 2021, 15:19:07 by Xotl »

Xotl

  • Dominus Erratorum
  • Moderator
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10409
  • Professor of Errata
Re: Internal Bomb Bay Design Quirk questions
« Reply #1 on: 30 October 2021, 15:18:04 »
Quote
Internal Bomb Bay (195. SO) lets the unit to use up to six bombs each turn. But...

1: Can the unit use it with the other hardpoints on the same time? For example, an Aerospace Fighter with Internal Bomb Bay and cargo slot carries some bombs in the cargo slot as well as its hardpoint, then when making Bombing attack (245.TW) can you use both of them at once, or you have to choose either hardpoint or Internal Bomb Bay but not both?
Yes, as long as they are all used for the same kind of bomb attack. 
Quote
2: There are the bombs that is not used for Bombing attack, such as Air to Air Arrow Missile (357.TO) Anti-Ship Missile and Arrow IV Homing Missile (358.TO). So...
2-1: Can a unit with Internal Bomb Bay use such bombs that is not used for Bombing attack normally?
Internal bomb bays can use alternate munition bombs. 
Quote
2-2: It was already answered that you may use up to 6 bombs, regardless of their size. Then, if 2-1 is correct, can the said unit also fire up to 6 missiles per a turn, include Artillery phase and Weapon Attack phase?
6 bombs of any kind, including alternate bomb munitions (even if those bombs are called missiles).
Quote
2-3: What if the said unit is making an attack with non-Bombing attack bombs, and does not making the Bombing attack that turn, then struck by the ground fire on the same turn? Is it also roll of 10+ to be damaged normally, or such penalty is only applied on the turn it is Bombing? Since it is expected to have 'Internal Bomb Bay' on its Below side for it is expected to use normal bombs I think that it still required to roll it anyways, but I want a double check.
Doesn't matter what kind of bomb or alternate bomb. Any turn a bomb is used from the internal bomb bay.
Quote
2-3-1: What if a unit makes non-Bombing attack with Internal Bomb Bay then making Bombing attack by its hardpoint(but not Internal Bomb Bay this time) on the same turn? I think that it is possible to shoot Arrow IV Homing(see above)/Non-Homing Missile (359.TO) then issue a Bombing attack on the same turn so it may happen.
No.  "Aerospace units can only make one air-to-ground attack per turn, and cannot make any air-to-air attacks in the same turn."  So you can't bomb (air-to-ground) and make an arrow iv (another air-to-ground) attack the same turn.
3028-3057 Random Assignment Tables -
Also contains faction deployment & rarity info.

http://bg.battletech.com/forums/index.php?topic=1219.0

PuppyLikesLaserPointers

  • Lieutenant
  • *
  • Posts: 1322
Re: (Answered) Internal Bomb Bay Design Quirk questions
« Reply #2 on: 31 October 2021, 01:39:35 »
Thanks! It perfectly answers the situation.