Register Register

Author Topic: (Answered) Superheavy Mechs and artillery  (Read 2650 times)

ANS Kamas P81

  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 11872
(Answered) Superheavy Mechs and artillery
« on: 06 November 2011, 20:24:26 »
While Tactical Operations declares that BattleMechs and OmniMechs at least cannot mount Long Tom Artillery Pieces, what about Superheavy 'Mechs?  All of the other artillery types are legal for regular 'Mechs, and as physically large as Superheavies are, would this be possible?  Looking at the table in TO, the artillery pieces match tonnage and crits - Arrow 15/15 or 12/12, Thumber 15/15, and Sniper 20/20.  Long Toms at 30 tons, and potentially 30 crits, would actually fit within the split locations (taking 15 actual crits) of  a Superheavy 'Mech unlike the smaller standard sized ones.  Can Long Toms be mounted, or is the previous restriction of LTs still in force?
« Last Edit: 27 January 2015, 00:34:13 by Xotl »
Der Hölle Rache kocht in meinem Herzen,
Tod und Verzweiflung flammet um mich her!
Fühlt nicht durch dich Jadefalke Todesschmerzen,
So bist du meine Tochter nimmermehr!

Welshman

  • Mostly Retired Has Been
  • Freelance Writer
  • Lieutenant Colonel
  • *
  • Posts: 10453
Re: Superheavies and artillery
« Reply #1 on: 07 February 2012, 12:25:01 »
Hello,

No Bipedal BattleMech design may carry Long Tom artillery pieces. This applies to Super Heavy designs as well. The recoil of such pieces is too much for even a heavy-duty gyro to handle.

No answer is available on any possible future units that might have more than two legs. That would have to wait for such rules.

Best,
Joel
« Last Edit: 07 February 2012, 13:14:52 by Welshman »
-Joel BC-
Catalyst Freelancer (Inactive)

"Some closets will never contain Narnia, no matter how many times we open the door." - Weirdo, in relation to the power of hope.

 

Register