BattleTech - The Board Game of Armored Combat

Catalyst Game Labs => BattleTech Game Rules Questions => Supplementary Rules => Topic started by: RifleMech on 17 May 2020, 23:44:19

Title: (Answered) IO - AirMechs in Space!
Post by: RifleMech on 17 May 2020, 23:44:19
Do to damage my LAM is stuck in AirMech mode and needs to get back to the dropship, space station, moonbase, whatever. What kind of Thrust does the AirMech have?

Do I use the BattleMechs/ProtoMechs part of the Conversion of Ground Units to Fighters Table (SO, pg 24)? #JJ/3 ?

If yes, do AirMechs still have the same 3x Jumping MP which would cancel out the /3 on the table so an AirMech's Thrust Rating would equal the number of JJs or do I just go with what's on the table?

Would the Fuel still be x2 for the AirMech?

Which type of Bay can an AirMech land in? Fighter, BattleMech, or either?

Thanks.  :)



Title: Re: (Research) IO - AirMechs in Space!
Post by: Xotl on 01 July 2022, 10:26:30
Took a while to hash this one out; apologies for the delay.

The following will be inserted into the start of the bullet-point section on p. 102:

   •   Space: A LAM in AirMech mode operates on the space map using the Space Drops for Ground Units in Zero-G Operations (see p. 22, SO) & Zero-G Ground Unit Combat (see p. 107, SO) rules, as if they were a BattleMech with a Thrust Rating equal to their AirMech Cruising MP/3, expending fuel normally.

As for bays, unless you have some sort of as-yet-undocumented vessel with specialist airmech bays, an airmech must transform and use either a fighter or mech bay.  Traditionally that would have been a fighter bay, but of course they're flexible.
Title: Re: (Answered) IO - AirMechs in Space!
Post by: RifleMech on 01 July 2022, 17:47:27
No problem.  :) Thanks for the answers.  :thumbsup: They're much appreciated.  :beer:
Title: Re: (Answered) IO - AirMechs in Space!
Post by: RifleMech on 10 July 2022, 19:42:37
Hi Again,

A follow up questions just came to me. I hope that's okay.

So my damage AirMech managed to make it back to the SpaceShip or Station. Yay! Since it's stuck in AirMech mode does it have to be repaired in space before entering or can it enter a cargo bay and be repaired there enough to convert and enter a fighter or mech bay to complete repairs?

Thanks :)
Title: Re: (Answered) IO - AirMechs in Space!
Post by: Sartris on 11 July 2022, 16:08:15
If it either has to go in a mech or fighter bay and is stuck in airmech mode, the LAM doesn't meet the dress code for either club. The techs are going to have to figure out how to get it to transform one way or the other.
Title: Re: (Answered) IO - AirMechs in Space!
Post by: RifleMech on 11 July 2022, 17:34:44
So repair in space or in the cargo bay. Thanks :)  :thumbsup: